Great Cookie Experiment- Mock Butterfingers

I’m back from DC.  Tired, but happy and glad for my very own bed.  Thanks again to Julie for the next Great Cookie Experiment!

Great Cookie Experiment- Mock Butterfingers

This week’s cookie experiment very nearly didn’t happen.  My oven died a sad and tragic death, and I had to go buy a new one.  It couldn’t be delivered until the next Tuesday, so suddenly I was completely without an oven to bake cookies with.   I had many friends offer for me to come bake at their house.  I even had one friend that said she had a portable countertop oven that she could bring if I needed it- no kidding!  Somebody mentioned that I should make some nobake cookies.  Aha!  As it turns out, in the VERY OLD section of my cookbook, printed on a dot matrix printer, are several nobake cookie recipes that I downloaded, and, again, never made.  Not for at LEAST a decade.  Maybe longer.  Most nobake type cookies are made on the stovetop, and my stovetop was working just fine.  It was the oven part that was dead.  It was time to skip ahead many many pages in my recipe book to try one of them out.

I blew the dust off of the musty dot matrix printed pages, and squinted at the fading ink.  Mock Butterfingers- I love butterfingers.  This sounded hopeful.  They used cornflakes as an ingredient.  Okay, that’s good for making them crisp.  I had a recipe for the week.  I started assembling my ingredients- cornflakes, peanutbutter, sugar, corn syrup….oh.  Oh.  Well, gee.  It turns out, that the recipe that I had downloaded and saved for over ten years was almost exactly the same recipe as an old family favorite that we called Turtles.  The only difference is that mine uses rice crispies instead of cornflakes.  I make them often.  The good news is that the cookies are great, whether you use rice crispies or cornflakes.  I’ll even include my standard recipe so you can compare the two yourself.

Mock Butterfingers

Mock Butterfingers

3 cups cornflakes, crushed

1 cup crunchy peanut butter

½ cup sugar

½ cup light corn syrup

6 oz chocolate chips

Heat peanut butter, sugar and corn syrup over low heat to melt.  Stir in cereal.  Pat into an 8×8 lightly greased pan.  Sprinkle with chocolate chips while still warm.  Spread when chocolate chips have melted enough.   Cool.  Cut into squares.  Yield- completely depends upon how big you want your cookies.

Turtles

1 cup sugar

1 cup light corn syrup

1 cup peanut butter

6 cups rice crispy cereal

chocolate chips

Combine sugar, corn syrup, and peanut butter in a microwave safe bowl.  Microwave on high for five minutes.  Stir in six cups of cereal.  Spread in greased cookie sheet (I always put mine in a 7×11 pan).  Sprinkle with chocolate chips as desired while mixture is still warm.  Spread smooth when melted.  Cool.  Cut into squares.

4 thoughts on “Great Cookie Experiment- Mock Butterfingers

Leave a Reply

