Tuesday Tip: Tofu Custards

Okay, so it’s not Tuesday…it’s Wednesday, but with the holiday weekend my brain has been highly confused. As though this is new news, but that’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Today’s tip is about Tofu and I owe a debt of gratitude to Alton Brown and his Mooless pie which is where this recipe started. I tried making his pie exactly as he did, but I found that for me it was very rich and lacked the consistency that I wanted. As usual I reached for my Ultra Gel and my husband’s tastebuds to make things right. I ended up with a fun layered dessert which is lovely for summer, fairly healthy and everyone ate without batting an eyelash over the tofu content.

Tofu Custards

1 package silken tofu
2 cups vanilla chocolate chips
1 tsp vanilla
2 tsp Ultra Gel

Combine tofu and vanilla in a blender and blend until smooth. Melt chocolate chips gently in the microwave, I use 20 second bursts and stir in between. Add melted chocolate and Ultra Gel to the tofu mixture and blend until smooth. This is the vanilla layer.

1 package silken tofu
2 cups semi sweet chocolate chips
1 tsp vanilla
2 tsp Ultra Gel

Combine tofu and vanilla in a blender and blend until smooth. Melt chocolate chips gently in the microwave, I use 20 second bursts and stir in between. Add melted chocolate and Ultra Gel to the tofu mixture and blend until smooth. This is the chocolate layer.

Other ingredients for assembly:

Fat free teddy grahams – crushed
Low Sugar Raspberry fruit spread

In 9-12 clear cups, plastic will be fine particularly for kids, layer crushed cookies, chocolate tofu, raspberry, white tofu, cookies and more fruit spread. You can finish it off with a few more fresh berries, but I personally don’t think it need it. Cool in the fridge for 30 minutes and consume with gusto. I’ve made these twice now and they haven’t lasted for long with no one believing that all that creamy goodness comes from the humble soybean. It’s a low sugar, higher protein, dairy free dessert…or it makes a good afternoon snack too.

Yum.

Jana Brown

Leave a Reply

