Tuesday Tips: Eggplant Spaghetti

Today I’m feeling all proud of myself because it’s Monday night and I’m writing the Tuesday Tips post.  I’m gonna be on time this week!  Yay!

I’ve mentioned before that my husband and I participate in a local food co-op called Bountiful Baskets.  A couple of weeks ago when we got our basket we also picked up what they called an Italian pack.  It was a fun pack of fresh Italian spices, small zucchini and one giant eggplant.  I had a lot of immediate ideas for what to do with most of the pack, but the eggplant is something I’ve always found a little puzzling.  It’s large.  It’s purple.  It’s a bit sweet and kinda spongy and not the vegetable at the top of my repatoire.

Honestly, this is part of the fun of getting a basket, the challenge of coming up with something to do with a fruit or veg that isn’t always on the dinner table.  I remembered reading about an eggplant lasagna and based on that idea cubed the eggplant and added it to my spaghetti sauce.  The results were very yummy.  The tomato sauce worked well with the eggplant and the eggplant absorbed good flavor and provided a little different texture.  I’d go as far as to say that it would make an excellent replacement for the ground beef for a vegan sauce, though it also made a nice partner.

So what about you, gentle reader, anyone have a favorite eggplant dish in your back pocket to share?

Jana Brown

Eggplant Spaghetti

1 lb ground beef (opt)

1 medium egg plant, small cubes

1 small onion, diced

8 ounces sliced mushrooms

Brown meat and add vegetables and egg plant, cooking until tender.

15 ounces petite diced tomatoes

3 ounces tomato sauce

1 Tbl Italian Seasoning

1/2 tsp fresh oregano

1/2 tsp sugar

salt and pepper to taste

Add tomatoes and spices and simmer well.  Add Ultra Gel as needed to obtain desired thickness, I usually use about 2 Tablespoons.  Serve over green beans or pasta!

Leave a Reply

