Mango Salsa

Mangoes…  A funny looking tropical fruit which comes in shades of green, orange and red and is kinda sticky on the inside.  For a long time I have not been a fan of mangoes, and it wasn’t even the fault of the fruit.  Much to my shame I was once teaching a class and someone asked me how to cut a mango.  Feeling confident I picked up the mango and tried to cut it in half, running right into a thick pit and looking like a complete dork.  To my credit I had made a mental mistake and I was thinking papaya instead of mango, but I was still embarrassed and in my embarrassment I blamed the mango and I stopped buying them.

This year as I’ve received baskets of fruit and been expanding my cooking again I’ve become re-acquainted with the mango and I have to say I’ve done it wrong.  It’s still a bit sticky in the center and there’s still a pit to deal with, but the flavor is nice and goes with so many lovely things.  I love the color and, as Alton Brown would say, the mango is Good Eats.

So in tribute to my new found love of mangoes I share the mango salsa recipe I made yesterday.  This went beautifully with some grilled pork, but also plays nice with fish or with plain ol’ tortilla chips.

Oh…by the way…I did learn how to deal with mangoes too.  You can either slice large pieces off with the skin intact, dice and scoop out like an avocado, or my favorite is to peel the mango and slice the fruit away from the pit in big pieces which I then dice…or just eat…

Mango Salsa

1 medium mango – peeled and diced

1/2 small red onion – diced

1 anahemi pepper – diced

2-3 roma tomatoes – diced

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp honey

1-2 tsp fresh lime juice

1-2 tsp raspberry vinegar

1-2 tsp Ultra Gel

Combine Ultra Gel, vinegar, honey and lime juice and whisk well.  Pour over diced fruits and vegetables and mix together gently.  Add spices and toss.  This was great fresh, but even better after a night in the fridge.

3 thoughts on “Mango Salsa

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Mango Salsa | Cornaby's -- Topsy.com

  2. Thanks, this looks good! I just posted a mango salsa recipe today, too (domestikating.wordpress.com if you’d like to see it). My question–what is Ultra Gel? I’ve never heard of it?

  3. Oooh…thanks for coming by and sharing. That looks killer. 🙂 I should try a batch with the avocado in it, though I’d have to eat it all by myself, not too harsh of a thing.

    Ultra Gel is highly cool stuff. It’s a modified food starch, which in this case is a fancy way to say it’s a very high quality corn starch, instantly thickens any liquid at any temperature. You just sprinkle some in and stir. I love it. For something like the salsa it’s useful because the Ultra Gel helps keep the liquids coating the fruits so they don’t brown and I don’t end up with all my spices and juice in the bottom of the bowl instead of on my chips!

    Jana

Leave a Reply

