The Other Bread Blog

The other day I talked about putting UltraGel in bread products, and I admit I was mean and left a teaser for another tip which I promised to put in another blog.  This is the other bread blog where we’ll talk about the secret weapon for helping bread to rise.

When I was a very little girl my mother would make bread on the weekends and had found that the most perfect place in the house to help bread rise wasn’t in the house.  It was a cute little VW bug out in the sunshine.  The temperature was perfect and a bowl of bread or tray of rolls would come up beautifully in about 45 to 60 minutes.

As I lack a car which doubles as a perfect rising box I use a different box, this one in the house.  I use my microwave.  I know that sounds rather odd, but it works beautifully.  Microwaves work by agitating water molecules in order to cook food from the inside out.  Used with bread this water action creates a fast rise and a tender product.  It always makes me feel a little like a mad scientist creating a food Frankenstein when I put my creation in the box and push the buttons but it works like a charm.

For most breads the secret formula is 30 seconds on high power, let sit for 2 minutes.  Flip the bread over and give another 30 second blast.  Then let it sit and the rise time will be shortened to about 20 minutes instead of 60.  How’s that for a mad recipe?

Jana Brown

Leave a Reply

