Vegetarian Taco Soup

I’ve chattered before about getting Bountiful Baskets and how much fun they are.  For those who don’t remember this is a program where you pay in 15 bucks and get a big basket of fruits and veggies at the end of the week.  I love the program but every now and again find myself with a few things that I just haven’t used through that are starting to go wilty.  I find that one of my favorite ways to get rid of the wilt is to make a soup which still incorporates lots of lovely flavors, but since the veg gets cooked down no one will notice a wrinkle or two.  (Which may be the purpose of a sauna too…cooking us down to where no one sees the wrinkles, but I digress.)

Last night the left over veggies included: cherry tomatoes, red pepper, red onion, Anaheim pepper and some garlic.  This looked like the makings of a taco soup for sure.  Often when I make a taco soup I use ground meat as a base, but as Bunneh and I have been trying to eat better we’ve been thinking more about vegetarian recipes and I decided to go with it for this one.  It was a very straight forward recipe and method.

1:  Chop all veg into pieces, mincing the garlic fine.

2:  Heat olive oil in a pan at medium heat.

3: Toss in all veg except for the garlic and sautee until wilted and and onion starts to go translucent.  Add the garlic and cook another five minutes.  To this I added one pint of tomato juice, 1 can of rinsed pinto beans, one can of rinsed northern beans and one can of sweet corn also rinsed.  If you have more time you can start your beans from dried beans and use fresh or frozen corn, but I was in a rush so went for the canned produce.  If you’re using canned products you want to make sure to drain and rinse them to get rid of extra starches and sodium before cooking.  I also added 1 cup of water.

Let simmer for five minutes or until warm and steamy all the way through, then season.  I use salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder and a little paprika.

This can be served with tortilla chips, cheese, olives, sour cream or avocado depending on what you have on hand and what you like.  To keep it vegan you’d want to use vegan options on your cheese and cream or omit them.

Perfect for a cold day and lately they’ve been COLD!

Vegan Taco Soup

Sautee my pretties, Sautee!

Vegan Taco Soup

I like using at least two kinds of beans (legume) but a specific variety isn't required.

Vegan Taco Soup

With chips or without it's all yummy! I like the cheeeese meself.

Jana Brown

Leave a Reply

