Star Wars Landspeeder Cake

As promised today is the day of cake pictures.  Boy 2 turned 10 this year and was very indecisive about what he wanted for a cake, but he is a Lego Star Wars nut and so I took inspiration from that to create a landspeeder.  Now…if I did it again there are a lot of things I’d do a little differently.  I based the colors off of the lego pack and it was a little more yellow than I wanted it to be.  However, the boy knew exactly what it was the first time he looked at it so if he’s pleased, well…no problem there.  And I can change things up next time!

So for this cake I made a Texas sheet cake which is a from scratch chocolate cake in a jelly roll pan.  I split the cake in half and layered it with chocolate buttercream and cut it in the basic landspeeder shape, which curves in the front and is pretty square in the back.

Star Wars Cake

Formed and frosted

Then I colored my main fondant and rolled it out so it would be larger than the cake.  It helps a lot of if you use a plastic cake sheet or waxed paper if you’re not good at rolling fondant onto your rolling pin.  I personally do both, but I also work with a fairly soft fondant so I can preserve flavor.

Once colored the tan went on top and I shaped it to the cake.

Star Wars Cake

Roll 'em roll 'em roll 'em

I smoothed my fondant and then removed a section for the driver’s pit and filled that with grey fondant and a couple of fondant seats.  I suspect the actual landspeeder would have bucket seats, but I liked these better.

star wars cakeI pressed lines and legos into the fondant to give the impression of the lego dots.  At one point I worked on having dots to put in place, but I hadn’t figured in quite enough time to finish that part before the big party.  Next time I’ll add an hour to my estimate just for lego dots.

From here I moved onto detail work with the stripes around the landspeeder, windshield, dash detail and rockets.  I cut each of these our of fondant and used my chocolate icing in a decorating bag as the glue.  When working on these details it helps if you work fast as they do tend to dry out a bit in between rolling and setting.  The thinner the detail the faster it drys out.  If you’re working with a piece that’s too dry you can either reroll or you can lightly brush with water and allow the piece to sit and it will often be alright.  Speaking of, I always brush the finished cake with water to remove any sign of powdered sugar from the fondant and to give it a little shine.

Star Wars Cake

Zoooom

The back seat lightsaber was made with some fondant wrapped around a toothpick.

Boy 2 added a few mini figures and we were ready to party.

Star Wars Cake

A black background would have been best, but white is working. It tastes good!

My fondant recipe is found back on the Dragon Cake post, and here’s my Great Grandma’s Texas Sheet Cake recipe.  I lurve this recipe and it makes a very even chocolately cake great for decorating.

Jana Brown

Texas Sheet Cake

2 c. flour (I use a combination of whole wheat and all purpose)

1/2 c butter

1/2 c unsweetened applesauce

1 c water

1 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

2 c sugar

1 Tbl Ultra Gel

1/4 c dark cocoa

1/2 c buttermilk or sour milk

1 tsp vanilla

Mix flour, sugar, baking soda and Ultra Gel together.  Combine butter, cocoa, applesauce and water in a microwave safe dish and microwave for 2-5 minutes until it reaches a boil.  Use a large enough dish that if there is any bubbling or popping of the oil it won’t end up all over your microwave!  Add to dry mixture and combine until dry ingredients are well moistened.  Add milk, vanilla and eggs and beat well.  Pour into greased and floured jelly roll pan.  (I often line the pan with parchment paper so I can lift the whole cake out easily.)  Bake at 400 F for 20 minutes or until the top springs back when lightly touched.

Leave a Reply

