Simple Star Wars Cupcakes

I realized that last week I got the Star Wars Cake pictures up but I forgot the cupcakes.  These are really simple cupcakes but my boys sure loved them.

The base is a rich devils food cake (I cheated and this is totally from a box, though I use the high altitude directions and replace the 3 Tbl of flour with Ultra Gel which gives a moister cake so I don’t mind the cheating), then I hollowed out the centers and filled them with Cornaby’s raspberry fruit spread.  (Yes, shameless name dropping, but it really is the best fruit spread I know of, so I’m proud of it.)  I don’t have one of the cool cupcake corers or an apple corer so I just used the tip of a potato peeler, which worked fine.  Once the cupcakes were filled I put a swirl of dark chocolate frosting on top and then made lightsabers out of fondant and toothpicks.  i would have liked the red to be a little redder and if I did it again I’d make them all a little thinner with silver handles instead of brown, but these were the last things I made after a day of making cake and trying to get read for a party, so there was an emphasis on simple.  At the end of the day the boy was happy, so even with the changes I’d make all in all I was pleased.

Star Wars Cupcake

Mmm...chocolaty

Star Wars Cupcake

The mother of invention...

Star Wars Cupcake

Chocolate and Raspberry together

Star Wars Cupcake

Star Wars Cupcake

No purple light sabers. I'm a classic Star Wars kind of girl!

Leave a Reply

