My Favorite Things: Kitchen Steamer

I really like steamed vegetables, and a grew up learning to cook them in a little bit of boiling water.  I was always a bit annoyed by this because it meant I had to fish all the soggie veggies out afterwards, but the texture was nice and the veg was moist.

Over the years I’ve seen a lot of kitchen gadgets and looked at a lot of them with a sense of skepticism.  When I saw the UFO like steamer it always struck me as just another dumb gadget.  It couldn’t actually be that cool could it?

Kitchen Steamer

The Kitchen UFO is coming to get you!

Kitchen Steamer

Take Me To Your Vegatables

Then a few months back my sweet husband, Bunneh, bought one of these things after watching Alton Brown use them a bunch and after we started working to put even more veg into our diets.  And we’re converts.  Using the steamer is a matter of lowering it into a pan of appropriate size, adding a scant 1/2 to 1 cup of water, clamping on the lid and letting it go.  The veg is so tender and you don’t lose the water soluble vitamins into the juice.  It’s definitely become one of my favorite kitchen tools…who would have thunk?

Jana Brown

Leave a Reply

