All Day Chicken Chili

A couple of days ago I was doing some cleaning in the kitchen and came upon a bag of dried red beans.  I pondered putting them down into the food storage, but it was a rainy kind of day and the more I looked at them the more they chanted at me that they needed to be made into…chili.

I had most of the day open to let something simmer along, so I went for the easy in long time method.  I used my small pressure cooker because I wanted to give myself an option to pressure cook the beans for a few minutes if it became necessary…in this case it wasn’t.  I placed the whole bag of beans into the pan and added 1/4 cup red wine vinegar, 1/2 cup burgandy cooking wine and 6 cups water.  I added a sprig of oregano, 2 bay leaves and some celery leaves for flavor and then clamped the lid on and set the whole thing to simmer for about 4 hours, stirring occasionally.

Once the beans were cooked through I added onions, chicken, 2 cans of unsalted tomato puree, one diced roma tomato and a handful of spices (salt, pepper, chili powder, garlic).  I heated this all through and ended up with a beautiful chili…

Comfort food at it’s best.  Now if only I’d made doughnuts to go with it.

Jana Brown

chicken chilichicken chilichicken chilichicken chiliTime passes….

chicken chiliMore time passes…

chicken chiliWhere’s my spoon?

Leave a Reply

