Guest Blog – Raspberry Belgium Pancakes

One of the fun things about Cornaby’s is that we are a family business and that means getting everyone involved in everything we do.  My kid brother…much taller and buffer kid brother…has recently joined the ranks and worked up a recipe to share!
The Maverick
Hello everyone!  I am new to the blogesphere and have finally found something fun to blog about.  This morning when I woke up I was feeling adventurous.  Cooking is one of my passions and I take pride in being a rebel who doesn’t like to follow recipes.  My normal specialties are Mexican food and Smoked meat, but I also have a passion for crepes and breakfast foods.  While at my Aunt’s house when I was 17 I tried her Belgium pancakes.  It was interesting because she served them with sour cream and jam.  This morning when I woke up I wanted to do something similar.  I pulled out the old Better Homes and Garden cookbook and looked up the recipes for crepes and pancakes.  I had the idea that I could combine the two recipes and make a delicious hybrid.  This is the recipe I made up.  Just remember that nothing in this recipe is exact, so these are all rough estimates.
Raspberry Belgium Pancakes
1 1/2 c all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 c sugar
2 t. cinnamon
1 t. ground cloves
1 T Ultra Gel
1 T canola oil
1 c. milk
4 eggs beaten
3 T Cornaby’s Raspberry 5 Star Preserves
Instructions:  Combine all ingredients except the raspberry preserves and mix well.  The mixture should look like runny pancake batter.  Fold in raspberry preserves.  Heat medium non-stick pan to medium high and lightly coat pan with butter.  Pour in 1/2 c. of batter and swirl to coat the pan evenly.  Flip when bubbles appear on the surface.  Top with syrup, Cornaby’s Preserves, whipped cream, or anything else that looks good.  They are also delicious plain because of the cinnamon, sugar, and raspberry preserves.
Tim Stocks
Raspberry Belgium PancakesRaspberry Belgium PancakesRaspberry Belgium PancakesRaspberry Belgium Pancakes
Leave a Reply

