The Great Cookie Experiment – Cherry Kisses

And we’re back with Julie and the Great Cookie Experiment.

Welcome to the Great Cookie Experiment!  I have collected recipes over the years that I thought looked interesting, shoved them in a three ring binder, and then never made them!  So now, I have decided to make them ALL, one batch a week.  I let my family and friends taste them, and then we decide if the cookie is good enough to stay in that three ring binder as a permanent addition, or if I make room in that binder for new recipes.  Hopefully the results can help YOU in your quest for fabulous cookies!

The Great Cookie Experiment- Cherry Kisses

I mentioned last week that I had been in a cherry mood when I copied down some of these recipes.  This is the second cherry recipe.  It was fun because I had never used candied cherries before.  They’re one of those strange looking ingredients that appear around Christmastime for those traditional fruitcakes.  Lucky me, they were available after Christmas too.

I love meringue cookies, so anything with a good crisp meringue is great.  This cookie was even better, because unlike most meringues, it was crispy on the outside, then chewy on the inside.  The nuts, dates, and cherries gave it that great chewy texture.  It tasted good, but I was still disappointed.  It didn’t taste at all like cherries!  The cookie tasted nutty and slightly fruity, but that was more from the dates than the candied cherries.  To me, if it’s going to be called Cherry Kisses, there should be a cherry taste somewhere in there.  You could probably leave out the cherries completely and call them Date Nut Kisses.

In spite of that, the cookies were good.  I think anyone looking for a good variation on meringue cookies will be pleased with it.  If you are going to keep the candied cherries, I would save the recipe for Christmastime when they are less expensive.  My disappointment over the lack of a great cherry taste has made it so that I would probably not make this cookie again, but that doesn’t make the recipe a bad one.

Cherry Kisses

4 egg whites

1 ¼ cups sugar

1/3 c chopped walnuts

1/3 c chopped pitted dates

1/3 c chopped candied cherries

Place the egg whites in a large bowl and let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes.  Beat on medium speed until soft peaks form.  Gradually beat in sugar, 1 Tablespoon at a time, on high until stiff glossy peaks form and the sugar is dissolved.  Fold in the walnuts, dates, and cherries.  Drop by teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto lightly greased baking sheets. Bake at 300 for 20-30 minutes or until lightly browned and firm to the touch.  Remove to wire racks to cool.  Store in an airtight container.  Yields approximately 6 dozen.

One thought on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Cherry Kisses

Leave a Reply

