The Great Cookie Experiment – Apple Doodles

More cookies from Julie!  She promises pictures as soon as she figures out how to get them off of her camera.  I’m glad I’m not the only one that fights with the camera sometimes.

The Great Cookie Experiment- Apple Doodles

Mmm!  When I saw the name of the cookie, I immediately imagined the buttery cinnamon taste of Snickerdoodles blended with apple, and started drooling.  The cookie really wasn’t that much like Snickerdoodles, but my brain made the comparison, and that’s what I was expecting.  This cookie made the house smell fabulous as it was cooking.  They came out a beautiful shape and color- the butter-flavored shortening did the trick to give it just the right texture too.

I wish the taste had lived up to the expectation!  They tasted…off…. like too much baking powder or baking soda.  Everyone ate them, and said they were good, but I could taste the chemical, and didn’t like them.  I would need to play with the recipe, and alter some of the measurements to make them perfect, because I still want the apple and Snickerdoodle combination.  With so many better cookie recipes out there, I probably will NOT bother trying to make the recipe better, however.  If someone else wants to play with it, let me know.  I may just take the standard Snickerdoodle recipe and see if it’s good with apples. Until then, this one is out of the recipe book.

Apple Doodles

2/3 cup butter-flavored shortening

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups flour

2 ¼  teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 cup finely diced peeled tart apple

¾ c copped walnuts, optional

In a large bowl, cream shortening and sugar until light and fluffy.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Combine the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Stir half of the flour mixture into the creamed mixture.  Stir in the apple, walnuts and remaining flour mixture.  Drop by heaping teaspoonfuls onto lightly greased baking sheets.  Bake at 375 for 13-15 minutes or until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

