The Great Cookie Experiment – Chewy Chocolate Cookies

The Great Cookie Experiment – Chewy Chocolate Cookies

These poor cookies suffer from altitude sickness.  It’s happened before that Utah’s high altitude has affected the outcome of a cookie recipe, and these poor things were the newest victims.  Everything started out so well, too!  I don’t have a standard chocolate cookie recipe I like to make, so I was intrigued by a chocolate cookie that would give me a nice chewy texture.  The dough tasted great, and I had high hopes that the cookie would taste great too.  Um…I don’t think I’ve mentioned before that I’m a big cookie dough lover.  Most of my life I’ve considered cookies to be a waste of good cookie dough.  It’s pretty much a given that I’m going to try the dough of any recipe I make.  I fight with my daughters over the beaters too.

As the cookies finished baking, they looked beautiful as I pulled them out of the oven.  They were nice and puffy and chocolatey looking.  Then, as I sat the cookie sheet on the stove, the worst happened.  They fell flat- REALLY flat.  Pancakes have more rise in them than these cookies.  They were nice and soft- I had to wait a few minutes before getting them off of the cookie sheet to cool.  Frosting them with the white buttercream frosting should have helped, but it didn’t.  They still looked flat.

My resourceful friends didn’t care that the cookies were flat, however.  They took two cookies, sandwiched the buttercream frosting in between them and ate them as a cookie sandwich.  One friend declared that I shouldn’t change a thing with them.  Ever.  True to the title, the cookies WERE chewy, and they had a great chocolate taste.  They’re just very very flat.  If you’re at sea level, you’re going to love these!  If you’re high up like me, then play with cutting some of the baking soda, sugar, or butter and see if that won’t help cure the altitude sickness.

Chewy Chocolate Cookies

Chewy Chocolate Cookies

1 1/4 cup butter

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 cups flour

¾ cup cocoa

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

1 cup nuts ( I left these out and didn’t miss them)

Cream butter and sugar.  Add eggs and vanilla.  Blend well.  Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.  Blend into the creamed mixture.  Stir in nuts.  Bake at 350 8-9 minutes.  Cookies will be soft, so allow to sit on the cookie sheet a few minutes before moving to a cooling rack.  Can be iced with buttercream frosting if desired.  Note:  I use Wilton’s standard buttercream recipe.

3 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Chewy Chocolate Cookies

Leave a Reply

