The Great Cookie Experiment – Crunchy Pretzel Drops

The Great Cookie Experiment – Crunchy Pretzel Drops

This is the cookie that my friends actively campaigned to have me not make for them. “Next week I’m making Crunchy Pretzel Drops.” I said. The room got quiet. “I hate pretzels.” One fiend said. “That sounds awful.” Said someone else. “Can’t you skip it?” asked another. “What if we bought you a new cookbook and had you start making cookies out of that one?” came yet another suggestion. (Editor’s note:  I tried to stop her from making these!  I did.  The butterscotch sauce is killer, but the rest…well…I’ll let her explain.)

“It doesn’t work that way,” I said. “The point is to make ALL the cookie recipes, and see if maybe they’ll be good. I’m making the crunchy pretzel drops!” I was incensed! How did THEY know they would be terrible? They didn’t have the recipe! I was going to make them and they were going to be the best cookie ever, dang it!

Except, they weren’t. My friends were right, they were pretty awful. They weren’t completely terrible, mind you. The butterscotch sauce made with butterscotch chips,
corn syrup, milk, butter, and vanilla was heaven! What a great flavor combination! I
could put that on ice cream and be so happy! The problem came when I was supposed
to add the cereal. It called for a “Puffed Corn Cereal”. I know, they were trying to avoid
brand names by using a generic description, but there are actually TWO puffed corn
type cereals on the market today- on that comes in round little balls of puffed corn, and
one that is more like shiny light yellow popped corn. Only ONE of these said “Puffed
Corn Cereal” on the box. That was the one I bought. After all, it’s “Kid tested, Mother approved.”. How could that be a bad thing?

It was a really bad thing. The resulting cookies looked like something that the cat threw
up (Ed note the second:  She doesn’t even HAVE a cat, so it tells you it was bad). The round balls of puffed corn cereal, the pretzel pieces, and the butterscotch did NOT make for an appetizing combination. The cereal didn’t stay crispy, and turned kind of soggy chewy. The pretzels didn’t help much to crisp things up. They softened a bit with the sauce as well. A few friends tasted them to be nice, but there were LOTS left when I brought them home. I think I ended up throwing them away.

You MAY want to try them with the other puffed corn cereal, but I won’t.

Crunchy Pretzel Drops

6 oz butterscotch chips
1/4 cup light corn syrup
2 Tbl milk
2 Tbl butter
1 tsp vanilla
3 1/2 cups puffed corn cereal
1 cup broken pretzels

Combine butterscotch chips, corn syrup, milk, butter and vanilla in a small sauce pan.  Heat on low heat until the chips are melted and the sauce is smooth.  Pour over cereal and pretzels.  Pour out onto a cookie sheet and cool, break into pieces.

Leave a Reply

