The Great Cookie Experiment – Nuthin’ Cookies

The Great Cookie Experiment- Nuthin’ Cookies

I love the name of this cookie, even though it’s really just a chocolate chip meringue
cookie. Still, it’s made from whipped egg whites which is pretty close to being made
from Nuthin’, so I think the name is great!

I learned some things while making these cookies. I’ve had limited experience with
meringues, so it’s not something I’m a pro at. I’ve had some meringue cookies fail, and
some come out perfect, and I couldn’t tell you why one batch worked while the other
one didn’t. I ended up making two batches of this cookie. The first batch I made in my
big heavy duty Bosch mixer. I love this machine. I use it all the time, and it’s pretty
powerful- too powerful for these cookies. I used it to whip those eggs, waiting for them
to come to some kind of a peak. It didn’t happen. They didn’t even really get super
frothy. They just kind of turned thick and liquid. Finally, I had to figure they were as
close to done as I could get them, added the other ingredients, and poured them out on
the cookie sheet. They came out in thin white puddles with chocolate chips dotting them.
This was not what they were supposed to look like, I’m pretty certain. My daughter
came along and looked at the cookies with a confused expression. Finally she looked at
me, “Are these cookies supposed to look like bird poop?” I decided to make a second
batch.

I figured my high powered mixer was so powerful it just killed the egg whites dead. I
made the second batch using my little hand mixer. It was a night and day difference.
The eggs foamed up perfectly. They set up in lovely stiff peaks, and looked properly
chunky and chocolaty when I spooned them out onto the pan. They baked up looking
white and pristine on the outside, but the inside was thick with chocolate chips. Perfect.
They were delicious too!

I didn’t just throw the first batch away. I baked them too, to see what would happen.
They were also delicious, but the texture was different, and the taste was slightly
different. They were flat and not as pretty, so definitely go for the look of the second
batch. IF, however, you make these, and the egg whites just don’t seem to work right,
all is not lost. They will still bake and be a pretty good cookie. You may want to use a
lower powered mixture next time for the perfect consistency.

Nuthin' cookies
Nuthin’ Cookies

3 egg whites
1/8 tsp cream of tartar
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
¾ cup superfine granulated sugar (NOT powdered)
¼ cup chopped nuts (I left these out, and didn’t miss them)
2 cups chocolate chips (yes, this does seem like a lot. It really is the right amount)

Beat egg whites, cream of tartar and salt until soft peaks form. Add vanilla. Gradually

add sugar. Beat until stiff. Fold in chocolate chips & nuts. Drop by teaspoonful on a
cookie sheet covered with parchment paper or foil. Bake until dry at 300 degrees, about
25 minutess (sometimes it take 35-45 minutes). Cool and serve.

One thought on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Nuthin’ Cookies

Leave a Reply

