The Great Cookie Experiment – Peppermint Pattie Cookies

The Great Cookie Experiment- Peppermint Pattie Cookies

I have tried several mint cookies over the years.  I enjoy mint.  I especially enjoy chocolate and mint, but my FAVORITE way to enjoy mint cookies is when the recipe actually calls for a mint candy to be a part of the cookie rather than just using mint flavoring in the cookie dough.  I’ve had successful results in the past using Andes mints, very unsuccessful results with Junior Mints (they don’t really hold up well to heat), but have never tried peppermint patties.  This recipe gave me my chance.

The peppermint patties were outstanding!  The resulting cookie was really nice with a chocolatey cookie layer on the outside, and a surprise mint filling on the inside.  Unfortunately, the cookie itself came out a little flat- a problem I’ve run into frequently with these earliest of my saved cookie recipes.  It was also not a particularly good looking cookie.  I’d like to see a chocolate glaze drizzled over the top to add a more decorative element.

I would use peppermint patties in my baking again.  They hold up well, and still leave a creamy white layer in the middle of the cookie.  I need to play with the recipe before I’d consider it a great cookie- fix the altitude problem, and add a decorative element of some kind so that it can be proud on a dessert tray somewhere.  I would also double the recipe because going to all the trouble to bake and only having a dozen cookies to show for it is just wrong.

Peppermint Pattie Cookie

Peppermint Pattie Cookies

2/3 cup butter

1 cup sugar

1 egg

½ tsp vanilla

1 ½ cups flour

1/3 cup cocoa

½ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

1 Tbl milk

12-14 small peppermint patties

Beat butter and sugar.  Add vanilla and egg, blending well.  In a separate bowl, mix together dry ingredients.  Add to butter mixture alternately with milk, blending well.  Refrigerate dough about an hour or until firm enough to handle (dough will be a little soft).  Lightly grease cookie sheet.  Heat oven to 350.  Shape a small portion of the dough around unwrapped peppermint patties, completely covering the candy.  Place on a prepared cookie sheet.  Flatten slightly and crimp with the tines of a fork around the edges, if desired.  Bake for 10-12 minutes or until set.  Cool 1 minute.  Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack.  Cool completely.

Leave a Reply

