The Great Cookie Experiment – Scrumptious Chocolate Fruit and Nut Cookies

I’m having one of those weeks where all my days are mixed up.  Oops.  Not to mention, as Julie sometimes put it, I am ‘being nibbled to death by baby ducks’, which means that there is no one thing that is wrong or pulling your attention but a whole flock that all nibble with blunt beaks.  🙂  So here you go with this week’s experiment.

Scrumptious Chocolate Fruit and Nut Cookies

These cookies sounded very appealing to me because it was a basic chocolate cookie recipe with the super nummy add-ins of dried apricots, macadamia nuts, and white chocolate chips.  I thought that the name of the recipe had to be right- they were going to be scrumptious!

Yeah….not so much.  Don’t get me wrong, I still think this is a killer flavor combination, but the cookie recipe just didn’t work right.  The cookie came out too flat- another victim to altitude sickness.  What is it with chocolate cookie recipes?  I think all of the cookies that have a chocolate cookie dough have turned out flat.  I wonder if it’s a conspiracy….Either way, the cookie was flat with big lumps of vanilla chip, dried fruit and nuts sticking out conspicuously from the pancake-like cookie.  It completely fell apart when you tried to eat it.

I made my cookies much smaller than the recipe called for.  I love big giant monster-sized cookies, but I’m much happier with smaller cookies that don’t have nearly as many calories and make me feel less guilty about taking one from the cookie jar.  It also means that this recipe will make a lot more than just a dozen as the recipe suggests.  I’ve mentioned before that baking for just a dozen cookies is silly.  It’s got to be at least 2 dozen.

One of these days I’m going to find a chocolate cookie dough that holds up well to a Utah altitude- please feel free to send me one!  Until then, I am just going to have to stay disappointed that these cookies weren’t really all that Scrumptious.  Sigh.

Scrumptious Chocolate Fruit and Nut Cookies

1 ¼ cup butter, softened

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 cups flour

¾ cup cocoa

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

2 cups white chocolate chips

1 cup chopped dried apricots

1 cup coarsely chopped macadamia nuts

Beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add eggs and vanilla.  Beat well.  In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients and blend into the butter mixture.  Stir in chocolate, apricots, and nuts.  Use an ice cream scoop or ¼ cup measuring cup.  Drop dough onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 12-14 minutes or until set.  Cool slightly and remove from cookie sheet.  Yield 1 dozen cookies.

One thought on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Scrumptious Chocolate Fruit and Nut Cookies

Leave a Reply

