Great Cookie Experiment – Melting Moments Cookies

I got a cold this week…which will teach me to get ahead in my posting instead of right on time.  Sheesh.  So without further delay here is our Great Cookie Experiment from Julie, and tomorrow we’re talking Pumpkin Doughnuts!

Melting Moments Cookies

I remember why I printed out this cookie recipe over a decade ago.  I was on a cooking forum, and somebody posted that these were the BEST cookies ever!  Several people agreed.  I looked and saw that cornstarch was the main ingredient, and I thought that was strange enough that I had to give it a try!  Except I never did.  It sat in my book forever until now.

What a waste of time keeping it in the book.  It turns out that cornstarch used in place of eggs in a cookie recipe makes it taste like….cornstarch.  I was surprised, because clearly this recipe was once a brand names recipe- it called for Argo cornstarch, and Mazola margarine.  Brands are almost never specifically named unless it’s a recipe sponsored by the company.  The cookies came out looking fine, and they reminded me a little bit of the Mexican Wedding Cookies that have a thousand names, but they’re basically a butter cookie with powdered sugar and pecans.  Unfortunately, they fall short of those standard cookies.  The cornstarch taste makes the cookies bland instead of rich.  A half cup of powdered sugar barely sweetens it and only contributes to the bland taste.

There were several variations suggested to go along with the cookie recipe.  I’m not going to try them, because I’m not in love with the cookie enough to make them again.  However, if you do choose to make these, try substituting Ultra Gel for the cornstarch.  This modified food starch doesn’t have a taste, and won’t affect the flavor of the cookie the way the cornstarch does.  The recommended Ultra Gel to cornstarch ratio is posted right on the container of Ultra Gel, but it would be ¾ cup of Ultra Gel in place of the cornstarch.  You MAY need to add extra butter or some liquid if your dough is too dry.  Maybe we’ll play with the recipe and post the improved result someday!

Melting Moments Cookies

Melting Moments

1 cup flour

½ cup Argo cornstarch

½ cup powdered sugar

¾ cup Mazola margarine

1 tsp vanilla

In a medium bowl, combine flour, cornstarch, and powdered sugar.  In a large bowl, beat margarine at medium speed until smooth.  Add flour mixture and vanilla.  Beat until well blended.  If necessary, refrigerate 1 hour or until easy to handle.  Shape into 1 inch balls.  Place 1 ½ inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets.  Flatten with a lightly floured fork.  Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.  Remove, and cool on a wire rack.  Store in a tightly covered container.   Makes 3 dozen.

4 thoughts on “Great Cookie Experiment – Melting Moments Cookies

  1. I lost my recipe for melting moments several years ago. My family loved them. We always made them with butter and frosted them with a butter/powdered sugar/lemon juice frosting. Also we use lemon juice instead of vanilla. While the cookie is bland, the frosting adds the sweet. My family likes the way they kind of melt in your mouth.

  2. My mother always made these at Christmastime. Her handwritten recipe card calls them “Argo cornstach cookies” and doesn’t call for vanilla but does specify butter, no margarine. They are a very delicate shortbread cookie. She made them into stamped shortbread cookies by using a little glass cruet that had a cut glass bottom with a many-pointed star. The resulting cookies were pale white and extremely delicate in both taste and appearance. Her recipe calls for baking for 20 minutes in a 300 degree F oven. This year I cooked them at 350 by mistake and the results were awful. I think that real butter and a slow oven can yield a lovely cookie, so you might want to give them another chance.

Leave a Reply

