The Great Cookie Experiment – Orange Cookies

The Great Cookie Experiment- Orange Cookies

I think that a recipe for Orange cookies was one of the first recipes I did when I started the Great Cookie experiment.  It used the entire orange and ended up with a weird pulpy texture that wasn’t my favorite.  THIS is the cookie that says “Orange Cookie” to me.  It’s got a good orange taste, a good texture, and I really need to make them again.  And again.

It was a neighbor that gave me this cookie recipe many years ago.  It’s taken me a long time to try making them myself, and I was surprised at the recipe.  The recipe calls for a total of 9 Tablespoons of orange zest!  When you only really get a teaspoon or two of zest from an orange, that’s a LOT of oranges you need to zest!  I have no doubt that the results are amazing, but I’m not going to buy 9 or more oranges just to zest them for cookies.  Maybe if I got a case of oranges that were going to go bad unless I did something about it, but I don’t see it happening.  I zested 3 oranges, and left it at that.  The orange taste was good enough for me!  Feel free to add more if you want to.

orange cookies

Orange Cookies

½ cup shortening

1 cup sugar

1 egg

¼ tsp vanilla

2 ½ cups flour

6 Tbl orange zest (I used the zest of 2 oranges)

¼ cup buttermilk

¼ tsp salt

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

½ cup orange juice (freshly juiced from the oranges you zested)

Icing

3 Tbl softened butter

3 Tbl orange rind (I used the zest of 1 orange)

2 cups powdered sugar

enough orange juice to thin to a nice glaze

Cream shortening and sugar.  Add egg, vanilla, salt, baking powder and soda.  Mix well.  Add the orange juice alternating with the flour until well blended.  Fold in orange rind.  Drop by spoonfuls onto a baking sheet.  Bake at 350 for 12 minutes.  Remove to a cooling rack.  When cookies are still warm, spread with icing.  Makes about 3 dozen.

One thought on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Orange Cookies

Leave a Reply

