Chocolate Eggnog Cupcakes

So a few weeks ago, right before New Years, we had the last grand family party of the holidays.  I was to bring a dessert.  Having had a very long holiday set of months I was utterly uninspired, but I needed SOMETHING.  So I pondered…and pondered some more…and finally lit upon a cake mix and the unused lite eggnog in the fridge.  I made devils food eggnog cupcakes…it worked well and they were moist and lovely, but I wondered if my family in laws would like them.

Image

What started as a very full plate of cupcakes was demolished in short order.  I think eggnog cupcakes won over everyone’s stomaches.  Next time I’ll make them with a scratch recipe cause I think I can get a little more flavor from the chocolate, but I think sometimes we all need a fast ‘go to’ recipe or three for those times when from scratch just isn’t happening.

Devil’s Food Eggnog Cupcakes

Make one high quality cake mix according to the directions on the back, adding 1 Tablespoon of Ultra Gel, or if you are following the high altitude directions instead of using the given measure of flour replace the additional flour with Ultra Gel.  Replace the water with eggnog.  If you don’t want the eggnog flavor to be as strong then put in half eggnog and half water.  Easy as you please.

For frosting I whipped 1 pint + 1/2 cup eggnog with 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp Ultra Gel until stiff and piped it on with a big star tip.  Next time I’d also put chocolate shavings on top, but it’s na bad for a last minute inspiration.

Jana

Image

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Eggnog Cupcakes

  1. Bryan says: Maybe if you flip ahead in your cookbook there will be an eggnog cookie. But he won’t comment that here himself because “bunneh’s are commentless…”

    I say: Bull*****.

Leave a Reply

