The Great Cookie Experiment- Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

The Great Cookie Experiment- Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

I just got an account on Pinterest, and I am seeing Whoopie Pies recipes pop up all the time!  Apparently these are the hot thing to be making and eating right now.  These are sandwich cookies that are soft and gooey and make me hungry just looking at the pictures.  I thought that Red Velvet Whoopie Pies would be festive at Christmas when I made them, but since I didn’t get the article posted at Christmas, I figured that they would work just as well for Valentine’s Day!

Except you don’t want to actually MAKE these for Valentine’s Day!  What looks luscious in the photograph doesn’t necessarily TASTE as good when it’s made.  A picture might be worth a thousand words, but it doesn’t translate to great flavor.  These cookies were bland.  They were definitely soft, but I expected the cookie to be rich and flavorful, and instead it was just kind of dull.  This is not good for something such a lovely rich shade of red.  The frosting was a marshmallow crème frosting that was nice and sweet, but it didn’t go with the cookie.  It was providing all of the flavor and needed a rich cookie to go with it.  Not to mention the marshmallow crème was maybe a little TOO sweet for what I was expecting.  Is that possible in a frosting?  It was in this case!

This recipe was funny because it doesn’t tell you how to shape the cookies.  Drop by Tablespoon?  Roll into balls?  Roll out and cut into shapes?  No clue.  I guessed and used my cookie scoop to portion it and rolled them into balls.  They turned out very rounded, so I would also squish them with a glass to flatten them a bit.  I think that rolling them out might work, too.  Especially if you want heart shaped patterns.

I’m sad to say that these just don’t work for me as any kind of a great cookie.  I would get the Duncan Hines Red Velvet Cake Mix, make them into cookies, and use a cream cheese frosting as the filling instead.  That would give you both the taste and the richness that are lacking in these.  These are not the Whoopie Pies you are looking for!

Red Velvet Whoopie Pies

2 cups flour

2 Tbl cocoa

½ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

½ cup butter, softened

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

½ cup buttermilk

1 1oz bottle of red food coloring (2 Tbl)

Filling:

¼ cup soft butter

4 oz soft cream cheese

7 oz marshmallow crème

In a large bowl, beat butter on medium for 30 seconds.  Beat in brown sugar until fluffy.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Add dry ingredients and buttermilk, beating just until combined.  Stir in food coloring.  Bake at 375 for 7-9 minutes for 1 inch cookies or 9-11 minutes for 2 inch cookies.  Cool completely.

Leave a Reply

