Cherry Berry Asian Slow Cooker Ribs

I think I’ve mentioned before that I love my slow cooker.  If I haven’t, then I state it now for the record…I love my slow cooker.  All three of them.  As a working woman there are many days when the slow cooker is the difference between eating a healthy dinner and cheeseburgers on the way back from work…not that cheeseburgers are always a bad thing, but they should be saved as an occasional treat, not a staple.

Annnyway…cheeseburgers aside one of my favorite things to slow cook is pork ribs.  I usually go with a barbecue kind of flavor, but this week I had a couple of bottles of cherry berry jam, a brand new invention at the plant, and needed something to do with them.  So I did an Asian style slow cooker pork rib, which we served up over a bed of brown rice and quinoa with peas.  It was fantastic for both adults and the kids.  This is also a gluten free recipe as long as you choose gluten free hoisin and soy sauces.  🙂

Cherry Berry Slowcooker ribs

Cherry Berry Slow Cooker Ribs

2 jars cherry berry spread

1 red onion, sliced

8-10 country style pork ribs

1 Tbl Ultra Gel

1 Tbl soy sauce

2 tsp hoisin sauce

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp garlic

1/2 tsp chinese five spice

1/2 tsp kosher salt

Layer one bottle of spread and onions in the bottom of a slow cooker.  Brown ribs in a non stick skillet and move to the cooker.  In skillet combine the second bottle of spread and all spices.  Warm through and pour over ribs.  Slow cook on low heat for 6-8 hours or medium heat for 4-6 hours.

Leave a Reply

