Fruitivia Friday – Quinoa Pancakes

I got a cold earlier this week, which has made my brain a fuzzy place.  Fortunately for me our own Julie of the Great Cookie Experiment came to my rescue for Fruitivia Friday.  Below are her amazing Quinoa Pancakes, which are fantastic when topped with a pouch of Fruitivia making this a breakfast which provides protein, fiber, antioxidants, vitamin C and amazing flavor all in a healthy way.

Quinoa Pancakes

Quinoa Pancakes

I made quinoa for the first time a couple of weeks ago.  For such an ancient grain, it suddenly seems to be the new hot food item.  I see recipes for quinoa popping up all the time on the internet.  It only took a few thousand years for it to become popular!  My original intention was to make quinoa for a salad recipe I found on www.ourbestbites.com.  I followed the cooking instructions on the box of quinoa I bought at the grocery store.  I quickly realized that I was going to have a problem.  The salad recipe called for two cups quinoa, and the box instructions made more than that.  A LOT more than that!  I was suddenly looking for a lot of ways to make quinoa!

Fortunately, Pinterest saved the day.  As I said, there are lots of quinoa recipes popping up, and I caught sight of a pancake recipe.  Quinoa pancakes!   This could be good!  I found one online, and made the recipe on a Saturday morning.  I should mention that my family loves pancakes, but they have pancake issues.  For years I have only made pancakes that were whole wheat, so they have gotten spoiled.  Whenever they have pancakes made with cheap pancake mix, they hate them.  Their pancake standards are pretty darn high.

I am happy to report that the quinoa pancakes met their expectations and then some!  These pancakes had teeth!  They had the rich texture of the quinoa that made them filling and wholesome.  As a bonus, the recipe called for bananas, and the banana flavor worked fabulously.  The batch made more than enough pancakes for my family and left enough that we had pancakes for a few days after.  Because there is brown sugar and banana in the batter, I found that syrup wasn’t necessary.  I would top it with an extra burst of fruit flavor- like Cornaby’s Fruitivia.  That wouldn’t add extra sugar, and up the nutritional content of the pancake even more!  This recipe is a keeper!

Thanks to www.macheesmo.com for a great recipe!

Quinoa Pancakes

2 cups flour (I use a mixture of unbleached and whole wheat)

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

2 Tbl brown sugar

1 cup cooked quinoa

1 ripe banana, mushed (optional)

2 large eggs

1 cup milk

½ cup buttermilk

4 Tbl melted butter

Stir together dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl, mash the banana then add milk and eggs.  Stir in the quinoa.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.  Stir to combine, then add melted butter.  Thin with milk if necessary.  Cook on the griddle and serve with a pouch of Fruitivia!

2 thoughts on “Fruitivia Friday – Quinoa Pancakes

Leave a Reply

