The Great Cookie Experiment- Oatmeal Chippers

The Great Cookie Experiment- Oatmeal Chippers

Oh my goodness, I love this cookie!

I have a rating system for all of my recipes. When I make something, I rate it with a check plus system. A check is a recipe that’s fine, but nothing really spectacular- like a C grade in a class. A minus is terrible, like an F. A plus is fabulous and to be considered one of the best ever- an A grade. Then there’s a check plus and a check minus, B and D grades respectively. There are not many cookies that get a plus rating in my book, and I’m proud to announce that this one gets to join the elite ranks of the plus cookies!

Usually, if it’s a spice cookie, I don’t like chocolate chips with it. Conversely, if it’s a regular chocolate chip cookie, I don’t like raisins with it. For some reason, this oatmeal cookie has the right kinds of spices to make it fabulous with both chocolate chips and raisins. I suspect it’s the nutmeg, but whatever it is, it works!

My family and friends all agreed. One of my friends really doesn’t like raisins at all, but tried the cookie anyway. He loved it!

The other thing I loved about this recipe is that it makes a ton- at least four dozen. You can have cookies to keep in the freezer and put in school lunches for awhile, or to share with friends and neighbors if you want! I’ve added this to my list of favorite cookies. Let me know if you loved it too!

oatmeal chippers + great cookie experiment

Oatmeal Chippers

½ cup butter

½ cup shortening

1 cup white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups sifted flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

2 cups quick-cooking oats

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup walnuts, chopped (I left these out. I really want to try them with the nuts!)

1 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 350. Cream sugars with the butter and shortening. Add eggs and vanilla. Blend in the dry ingredients. Fold in nuts, chocolate chips, and raisins. Drop by spoonfuls onto cookie sheets and bake for 10 minutes.

6 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment- Oatmeal Chippers

Leave a Reply

