The Great Cookie Experiment – Chocolate Rounds

My apologies to Julie for not putting this up yesterday.  I didn’t realize I was at the end of everything I’d prescheduled and I was playing with the new iPad that Bunneh got me for our anniversary.  🙂

The Great Cookie Experiment- Chocolate Rounds

With this recipe, I have technically reached the last of the clipped and saved cookie recipes that I stuck in my notebook and never made.  Ironically, not only isn’t it actually a cookie, it’s not even food!  I’ll get to that in a bit.  I want to reassure you that all is not lost, because at Christmastime, I copied a bunch of recipes from my mother, and stuck them in my notebook, and I haven’t made them yet, so I suddenly have a whole new stack of cookie recipes to try.  Is that cheating?  My husband and girls aren’t tired of me making cookies yet, so I’m going to say no.  Don’t worry, there are more cookies to come!

Now, to this cookie that is not a cookie.  This is not the first time, or the last time that a candy has been slipped into the cookie section of a cookbook.  In this case, this came to me as part of a cookie exchange.   The Chocolate Rounds recipe has no flour, sugar, eggs, baking soda, vanilla- pretty much nothing in it that would describe it as a baked item in any way.  With whipped topping and chocolate, it’s simply a poor man’s version of a ganache or truffle.  This puts it directly in the candy category.

This also contains no real food.  If you go to the freezer section, look at the ingredients list on the tubs of “whipped topping”.  You’ll find some kind of sugar or sugar substitute- usually high fructose corn syrup, some oil, and a long list of hard to pronounce chemicals.  There’s no milk in the whipped topping.  No real food at all.  Okay, you can argue that chocolate is a food, but it’s really not.  It’s a food group all by itself, so mark that off the list, too.  🙂  I gave up using the processed whipped toppings years ago- if you make real whipped cream, and add a little bit of Ultra Gel, it doesn’t separate and get all liquidy, but it stays perfect and creamy, and it tastes better, and it has real food in it.  I don’t even know why I kept this recipe in my book for so long, since I never eat that stuff anymore.

And then I made the recipe and I remembered why.  Chocolate Rounds taste REALLY GOOD, and I love them, and I could eat them all by myself in one afternoon and never feel guilty about not sharing, and so what if there aren’t any real ingredients in it, I DON’T CARE.  Okay, now that I’ve gotten that out in the open, I will say, that while these are delicious, I DARE you to try this with real whipping cream and see how they are still easy to make and taste even BETTER.  That’s because real food will always be better than fake food.  (Ed note:  AMEN!  I’ve made these with the stabilized real whipping cream and they are KILLER.)

Whether you make this with real or fake food, there is a technique to it.  This is not a time to be slow- if you fold your ingredients together carefully, your chocolate will solidify quickly and you’ll get chunks instead of a nice smooth texture.  While the recipe says to just stir things together very quickly, I would suggest trying it with a hand mixer for even better results.

If this were made with REAL whipped cream, I would give this a plus.  I have to downgrade it to a check plus otherwise.  I’d still make them and hide them so nobody else knows I have them and eat them all myself.  Just saying.

Chocolate Rounds

Chocolate Rounds

8 oz whipped topping-thawed to room temperature

2 10oz Hershey’s milk chocolate bars (note.  Okay, I have to insert one last comment here.  I don’t know where you can find 10 oz Hershey bars.  I don’t think they exist.  Get 20 oz of chocolate put together somehow.  Splurge on really high quality chocolate if you want.)

Crushed vanilla wafers (or graham crackers)

Melt chocolate in the microwave 20 seconds at a time, stirring each time.  Do not let it dry out.  Stir whipped topping and chocolate together very quickly.  Chill in freezer for 10-15 minutes, then make into one inch balls (a small ice cream scoop or dishes works well) and roll in crushed wafers.  Freeze and eat straight from the freezer (these will actually last at room temperature for a couple of hours without any trouble.  Keep an eye on them so they don’t get too soft).

Ed note again: (This will be a recipe double feature since I already know the Ultra Gel adjustments on it.  🙂  )

Chocolate Rounds with Ultra Gel

1 pint whipping cream

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup powdered sugar

2 tsp Ultra Gel

Whip all ingredients together until thick and fluffy.

20 ounces chocolate (I like a semisweet)

Crushed vanilla wafers, graham crackers, nuts, coconut or other coating choice.  (using crushed nuts makes this a nicely gluten free dessert!)

Melt chocolate in the microwave 20 seconds at a time, stirring each time.  Do not let it dry out.  Stir whipped topping and chocolate together very quickly.  Chill in freezer for 10-15 minutes, then make into one inch balls (a small ice cream scoop or dishes works well) and roll in crushed topping.  Freeze and eat straight from the freezer (these will actually last at room temperature for a couple of hours without any trouble.  Keep an eye on them so they don’t get too soft).

Leave a Reply

