The Great Cookie Experiment- Crisp Lemon Sugar Cookies

The Great Cookie Experiment- Crisp Lemon Sugar Cookies

I mentioned last week that I had finally come to the end of the cookie recipes that I had saved for years and years and never made.  I can now say that I have made them all, and thrown the yucky ones out!  This is not the end of the Great Cookie Experiment, however, because, knowing this day would come, I added some more recipes around Christmastime.  My family isn’t tired of home-baked cookies every week, and I’m still having fun, so I figured I could just extend things for now.  Taste of Home Magazine came out with a magazine issue called Best-Loved Cookies and Bars in 2009.  I started testing their recipes when I started back in May or June last year, and I figured I could test out a few more.  I love Taste of Home magazine, and trust their recipes will be tasty, and fun.  Even then, I’ve found some of their recipes to be a bit unpredictable.

But not this recipe!  This cookie was delicious!  My husband has three favorite flavors of cookie, candy, ice cream, whatever.  He loves lemon, cherry, and peanut butter- the last two especially when paired with chocolate.  Any cookie that features those three flavors is going to catch his interest, and hopefully his approval.  He loved this recipe.  I will definitely be making them again.  The cookies had a mellow lemon taste, and were pleasantly crispy and light.  It made a lot, so they lasted for a few days, much to the pleasure of everyone in the family.

There are a few things that I would change or try as a variation, however.  The recipe calls for rolling the cookies in balls, then smashing them flat with a sugared glass.  The result was that the cookie had ragged edges that weren’t terribly attractive.  I wonder if it would work as a cut-out cookie instead, or even better, rolled into a log, chilled and sliced.  Both would even out the edges of the cookie so they didn’t look quite so ragged.  The other I may try as a variation.  I mentioned that the lemon was very mellow.  For a more intense lemon flavor it might be nice to mix powdered sugar and lemon juice into a glaze and then drizzle it or spread it on the cookie.

I would give this cookie a check plus- go make it!

Crisp Lemon Cookies

Crisp Lemon Sugar Cookies

½ cup butter, softened

½ cup butter-flavored shortening

1 cup sugar

1 egg

1 Tbl milk

2 tsp lemon extract

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 ½ cups flour

¾ tsp salt

½ tsp baking soda

Cream butter, shortening, and sugar together until light and fluffy.  Beat in the egg, milk, and extracts.  Combine flour, salt and baking soda- gradually add to creamed mixture.  Shape into 1 inch balls or drop by rounded teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets.  Flatten with a glass dipped in sugar.  Bake at 400 for 9-11 minutes or until the edges are lightly browned.  Remove to wire racks to cool.  Yield: 6 ½ dozen

3 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment- Crisp Lemon Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

