First Foods – Comfort Foods

So tonight I was puttering around making sloppy joes for my family and it got me thinking about certain foods which were the first things I learned to make.  There’s just something about some of these foods that always speaks to me of hominess and childhood and they’re both fun to make and fun to eat.

Take these sloppy joes, for example.  If you asked for the recipe I don’t think I could really give you one.  I can tell you what’s IN them, but the amounts are all about smelling and tasting and adding until it’s just right.  Then there are the things which go with it to make it even more right.  When I was a kid it was always cheese, pickles and tomato.  Later lettuce entered the picture, and very often there were crispy, crunchy, oven-baked, tater-tots.  These days we swap out the tater-tots for fruit or more veg in an attempt to be healthy, but I’m still always taken back to being about 10 when I make the dish.

So, dear readers…what dishes take you back to those early…or even not so early…days?

Sloppy Joes

1 lb ground beef

1/2 medium onion, minced

ketchup

Tabasco

mustard

Worcestershire sauce

brown sugar

salt and fresh pepper

Brown beef and onion.  Add everything else until it smells like home.  If needed add a little Ultra Gel to keep everything held together.

Eat with fry sauce, cheese, pickles, tomatoes and lettuce.

Leave a Reply

