Easy Chocolate Orange Cake

It was Bunneh’s birthday a  couple of weeks ago and my day  was…how do i gently say…crazy!!!  So I knew I needed a cake, but there just seemed to be no time.  I couldn’t fail the bunneh though, so I went for simple, but ever so tasty.  I’ve talked about Cheater Chocolate Cake before and this is a yummy adjustment on that recipe for a fresh but decadent cake.

Easy Chocolate Orange Cake

1 box devil’s food cake (I like Duncan Hines or Pillsbury)

1 9×13 sized dark brownie mix

zest of one orange

juice of one orange

Combing cake mix and brownie mix in a large bowl.  Follow the recipe on the back of each box adding 1/2 cup Ultra Gel to the dry mix and substituting the fresh juice for some of the water.  IE: If the total in the recipe is 1 1/2 cups water and you got 1/2 cup orange juice, add 1 cup water and 1/2 cup juice.  Fold zest in last before pouring batter into a greased and floured 9×13 dripper pan.  Bake until tests done.  Serve with favorite chocolate frosting.  In my case I made a Ultra Gel chocolate whipped cream and added more orange zest to that!

Decorate with candles only if husband is under forty….

Jana

Leave a Reply

