The Great Cookie Experiment – Coconut Oat Cookies

Coconut Oat Cookies

 

I have some very specific childhood memories about my grandmother and cookies.   This would be the grandmother who wasn’t the lunch lady.  This is the grandmother who worked at the Hallmark shop/Pharmacy in our small town.   She had a few cookie recipes that she liked to make, but most of the time, in my memory, she would buy packages of Archway cookies, or Mother’s cookies.  In particular, I loved the Taffy sandwich cookies made by Mother’s cookies.  They had this vague coconut taste, that even today remind me of grandma- just like any maple nut ice cream recipe makes me think of her.

 

I took me awhile to figure out what it was about this cookie that had me thinking about grandma.  It finally dawned on me that it was the coconut taste.  They reminded me of those Taffy cookies, even though they’re not really the same thing at all.   Isn’t it funny how memory works?  In any case, this was a great tasting cookie, and it makes me think of wholesome old fashioned things.  Most of my friends- the ones who will eat coconut- agreed that this was a great tasting cookie.

 

I had one problem with the recipe.  It was very dry and crumbly when it was all mixed up.  I have learned from experience that a dry and crumbly cookie dough will equal a dry and crumbly cookie.   They WERE easy to crumble, and were broken in pieces when I put them in the girls lunches.   The recipe needs some more moisture from somewhere- add some milk and a little Ultra Gel or a little more shortening perhaps.  In the end, if you like coconut, you will like these cookies.  Maybe it will go further and remind you of childhood things too.

 

I would rate these with a check plus.

Coconut Oat Cookies

 

½ cup shortening

½ cup sugar

1 egg

½ tsp coconut extract

1 cup quick-cooking oats

1 cup flour

1 package (3.4 oz) instant vanilla pudding mix

½ cup flaked coconut

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp cream of tartar

¼ tsp salt

 

In a large bowl, cream shortening and sugar until light and fluffy.  Beat in the egg and extract.  Combine the remaining ingredients.  Gradually add to the creamed mixture and mix well.  Roll into 1 inch balls.  Place on greased baking sheets.  Flatten with a fork.  Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes or until the edges begin to brown.  Remove to wire racks to cool.  Make about 2 ½ dozen.

Leave a Reply

