The Great Cookie Experiment – Golden Harvest Cookies

The Great Cookie Experiment – Golden Harvest Cookies

 I love it when cookies are filled with lots of healthy and wholesome things- Raisins, nuts, spices, whole grains, and all kinds of natural goodness.  When I saw the name HARVEST cookies, it made me think of fall and I expected a mixture of harvesty flavors.  I was very surprised when I looked at the ingredient list.  It had wholesome natural things- nuts, spices, carrots- that was unusual certainly, and cheddar cheese.  Oh yes, you read right.  This cookie recipe has cheddar cheese in it.  Huh.  That’s not typical at all.  Still, of course I was game to try it.  That’s why it’s called a cookie EXPERIMENT.

I made the cookies.  I tasted them.  Mmhmm.  I hate to say this, but it turns out that 1/3 a cup of sugar in the recipe is not enough.  These were really not sweet enough to think of as a cookie- at least not for DESSERT.  These needed to be breakfast!  I’m not kidding!  Oats, carrots, raisins, nuts, spices, just a LITTLE bit of sugar for taste- these are the ingredients of a breakfast food!  I would love to see this made into a muffin instead of a cookie.  As for the cheddar cheese, well, I wasn’t in love with it.  It didn’t really enhance the flavor of the cookie at all- it just kind of…was there.  You could leave it out and no one would miss it.

Because these weren’t dessert cookies, I was really disappointed I was bringing them to game night to share with my friends.  It’s the only night that many of us indulge in treats, and I couldn’t call this a treat.  I accidentally forgot the cookies at home when we left that night, and we had to turn around to go get them.  One of my kids said that we didn’t need to bother because nobody was going to eat them.  I’m sorry to say, she was right.  Everyone tasted, but nobody had more than one.  They also stayed around my house until Friday when I finally had to throw several of them away.

If you are used to little or no sugar in your desserts, you may want to try these.  I may save them for some kind of a brunch situation where a little breakfast cookie would really fit in well.  But I would leave out the cheese.  (Ed note:  These would be great as a pseudo granola for hiking or such though.  They weren’t bad, just not as ‘cookie’ as I wanted.)

I would give these a check.

Golden Harvest Cookies

Golden Harvest Cookies

2/3 cup butter, softened

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

¾ cup SELF RISING FLOUR

1 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp cloves

1 ½ cup quick-cooking oats

1 cup shredded carrot

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 cup chopped pecans

½ cup raisins

In a large bowl, cream the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Combine the flour, cinnamon and cloves.  Gradually add to the creamed mixture and mix well.  Stir in remaining ingredients.

Drop by heaping Tablespoons 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets.  Bake at 375 for 12-14 minutes or until golden brown  Remove to wire racks to cool.  Store in the refrigerator.  Makes about 3 dozen.

Leave a Reply

