Cake Mix Lemon Raspberry Rolls

A few weeks back I was trundling around Facebook, minding my own business when it happened.  I was attacked from the shadows by a recipe for luscious cinnamon rolls with a cake mix base.  It was all Love from the Oven’s fault, and as I stared at the recipe I knew that it must be mine.

Well….I knew that some version of it must be mine.  So I tumbled down the stairs to see what I could see, and was struck by the idea of a lemon cake mix base and a beautiful raspberry filling.  However, I didn’t want to spend a lot of time on the filling.  I wanted those rolls NOW!  So I pulled about 2.5 pounds of frozen raspberries (yes, from the farm!) out of the freezer and thawed them.  Then I added one package of Jam in a Jiffy and stirred.  This made a lovely, thick, jam filling to which I added the zest and juice of one medium lemon and 1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg.  This made for an AWESOME filling and, since Jam in a Jiffy has a starch base, one that would hold up under the heat of the oven.

I added to that a white chocolate cream cheese icing using the new Philadelphia Indulgences cream cheese as the base.  I got the dumb thing on coupon and had been wondering what to do with it.  This was a good choice.

The whole thing was a hit.  If you don’t believe me…empty plates tell no lies.

Cake Mix Lemon Raspberry Rolls

(With credit and thanks to Love from the Oven for the original)

1 box of Lemon Supreme cake mix
2 packages of dry yeast
2 1/2 cups of warm water
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp salt

1 Tbl Ultra Gel
4-5 cups flour

Combine yeast and 1/4 tsp sugar or Ultra Gel in warm water until dissolved and bubbly.  Combine cake mix, salt, Ultra Gel and 2 cups flour in a large bowl.  Add warm water and vanilla to dry mixture and work in well.  Add additional flour to form a soft dough.  (I wanted a good chew to mine so I kneaded it well and added in a little extra flour.)

Place in a greased bowl and cover.  Let rise for one hour or until double.  Punch down and let rise a second time.

On a floured surface roll dough into a rectangle shape.  Spread prepared raspberry filling over dough leaving one inch of dough free from filling so it will properly seal.  Roll the dough and slice into 24 pieces.  (I always use dental floss for this.)  Place rolls into greased pan, this can be a couple of 9x13s or a jelly roll pan.  Cover and let rise until double while preheating oven to 350.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15-25 minutes or until golden brown. (If you are my husband take the temperature and check that it’s around 200.)  Remove from oven and let cool slightly before icing.

Leave a Reply

