The Great Cookie Experiment – Peanut Butter Chippers

The Great Cookie Experiment – Peanut Butter Chippers

Peanut butter cookies, with chocolate chips- I can’t think of a single thing wrong with that combination.  Not at all!  Ever since the olden days when somebody got peanut butter on somebody else’s chocolate, peanut butter and chocolate have been a combination beyond compare.  It’s a favorite flavor combination at our house, so I was really excited to make these cookies.

I had just one concern.  When I mixed the dough together, it was really dry and crumbly.  Uh oh.  I have not had a whole lot of success with dry and crumbly dough.  It usually means that the cookies will be dry and crumbly as well.  I had to really pack the dough down into my cookie scoop so that it would stay clumped together when I put it on the cookie sheet.  I was fairly certain that I would have a dry crumbly cookie to deal with instead of peanut butter chocolaty goodness.

My fears were misplaced, however!  The cookie turned out just fine!  It wasn’t quite as moist and chewy as other cookies, but it held together, and I didn’t have a pile of crumbs on my hands after they had been in my girls lunches for a day.  I can also happily say that I almost didn’t HAVE any of these cookies to put in the girls lunches- they were gobbled down pretty quickly.  This is a pretty good sign that the cookies were great.  The other good sign were all of the friends who said over and over what a good cookie it was.

Peanut butter and chocolate are still a great team, and this cookie very beautifully reminds us of that fact.

Peanut Butter Chippers

Peanut Butter Chippers

6 Tbl butter, softened

¼ cup peanut butter

½ cup sugar

½ cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 ¼ cup flour

½ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

1 cup milk chocolate chips

(Ed note: If you struggle with dry dough add 1/4 cup milk and 1 tsp Ultra Gel to this recipe and it will fix it.)

In a small bowl, cream butter, peanut butter and sugars until light and fluffy.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Combine the flour, baking soda and salt.  Gradually add the dry ingredients to the creamed mixture and mix well.  Stir in the chocolate chips.  Drop by tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart onto ungreased baking sheets.  Bake at 350 for 11-14 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove to wire racks.

2 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Peanut Butter Chippers

Leave a Reply

