The Great Cookie Experiment- Honey Crunch Cookies

The Great Cookie Experiment- Honey Crunch Cookies

 

Honey is a favorite food staple at our house.  It is the preferred topping to all of our hot cereals, and great with peanut butter.  If I can find honey in a dessert recipe, I try to pay attention.  This one was intriguing because the honey replaces the sugar in the cookie dough.  I could imagine the rich honey taste of the cookie, and was pretty sure that it would be a fabulous cookie.

 

I think I messed this one up, however.  I’m going to give this cookie the benefit of the doubt, because it didn’t turn out to be a great cookie, and I think it was my fault.  We can’t even blame the honey, so don’t go pointing fingers at the sweetener.  No, it was the crunch part of the recipe that ruined things.

 

I don’t believe that Crisp Rice Cereal- the kind that makes noise when you pour milk on it- is actually a food.  It’s a little bit of starch puffed with a whole lot of air, and you could pretty much eat the whole box for breakfast and not get full because you’re not actually eating anything.  No, at my house, “Crisp Rice Cereal” is an ingredient, that is pretty much used for just one thing:  Rice Crispy Squares.  I can’t think of a better use of a breakfast cereal, really.  The problem is that I don’t make them very often, and the recipe I have doesn’t use up the whole box of cereal.  Instead, I have boxes of almost but not quite used up Rice Crispies that just sit there on the off chance I have some marshmallows to use up that day.  They might wait on the shelf for a long time.  A very long time.  I’m pretty sure that I could find boxes in the back of my pantry somewhere that would need Carbon testing for age.

 

I had a fresh box of cereal, but when it came to making the recipe, I grabbed the box I saw right in front of me, and used it, and it wasn’t until the cookie came out of the oven that I realized my very grave error.  Take it from someone who now knows very well, Crisp Rice Cereal is not very good stale.  Baked, it absorbs moisture, and takes away the nice fresh crispy texture and instead leaves you with a kind of gooey, chewy texture that really does not fit the title of “Honey CRUNCH Cookies” .

 

Overall the cookie was…okay.  Honey in the cookies left it with a mild sweetness that made the butterscotch chips have a nice punch of sweet.  I think that they would have been much better if I hadn’t used the wrong cereal.  As it stands, the cookie would be rated with a check…but a very hopeful check.  With fresh ingredients, it could be a much better cookie.

Honey Crunch Cookies

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup honey

2 eggs

1 cup coconut

1 cup butterscotch chips

4 cups crisp rice cereal

Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt.  In a separate bowl, cream butter until light and fluffy.  Add honey, a little at a time, beating well after each addition.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Mixture will appear curdled.  Gradually add dry ingredients, stir until moistened.  Fold in coconut, butterscotch, and cereal.  Drop by teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto greased baking sheets.  Bake at 350 12-14 minutes.  Makes about 5 dozen.

2 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment- Honey Crunch Cookies

Leave a Reply

