The Great Cookie Experiment- Chocolate Mallow Drops

The Great Cookie Experiment- Chocolate Mallow Drops

Once upon a time when I was a girl, there was a shop in the mall.  It was a cookie shop.  They called it the Cookie Cottage, and they decorated the store front, to be just that- a cute little cottage.  It should be no surprise that they served cookies, big beautiful freshly baked cookies.  Their specialty cookie was the Chocolate Marshmallow Cookie.  It was a chocolate cookie, with a big jumbo marshmallow melted on top, and then frosted with chocolate frosting.  My Aunt Carol caught sight of these one day while we were shopping for back to school clothes and had to try them.  They were so amazing, from there on out, they became an obsession.  We bought them by the dozen, packed in a large cake box, and brought them home to devour.  We’d get them as a treat whenever we were at the mall.  Our bliss lasted for a few months when a terrible, horrible thing happened.  Mrs.  Fields bought out the Cookie Cottage, and the Chocolate Marshmallow Cookies were gone.

Thanks to the invention of the internet, I found a recipe for the beloved cookies, and it is one of my standard favorite cookie recipes.  This is the same recipe with some interesting modifications.  Instead of just frosting the cookies with chocolate frosting, they have you pipe the frosting on in a decorative fashion to really make the cookies look extra fancy.  They also add coffee to the frosting.

Now.  I have no problems with pecans, walnuts, coconut, raisins, dates or just about anything else other people might balk at when it comes to cookies.  I like them, and I eat them, but I do have my limits.  I don’t do coffee.  I don’t drink coffee, and I don’t like mocha flavoring.  Jamocha shakes are wrong because they LOOK like chocolate, but they just leave you bitterly disappointed.  Coffee flavored candy should just be banned, and I don’t even want to talk about the bitter disappointment that was the Mud Slide pie served at a company picnic that should have been gooey chocolate goodness but instead was mocha yuckiness.  I can’t tell you how the coffee flavored frosting was, because I didn’t make it.  I made chocolate frosting, and I loved the cookie just like that, thank you very much.  If you do love coffee, then please make the frosting with it, and let me know how fabulous it is.  I promise to take your word for it.

Was this a great cookie?  It has been ever since we discovered them at the Cookie Cottage.  Make this recipe.  Love this recipe.  Pass this recipe down to your children and grandchildren.  Pipe on the frosting for extra pretty, or just frost them normally, and you won’t be sorry.

Chocolate Mallow Drops

Chocolate Mallow Drops

½ cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg

½ cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

1 ¾ cup flour

½ cup cocoa

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

18-22 large marshmallows, halved  (note, if you make them like the Cookie Cottage, then you use an ice cream scoop to measure out your dough, and a whole marshmallow thank you very much)

Frosting: 

¼ cup butter, cubed

2 squares (1 oz each) unsweetened chocolate

1 square (1 oz) semisweet chocolate

2 cups powdered sugar

3-6 Tbl brewed coffee  (if you leave the coffee out, mix instead with a little bit of milk)

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Beat in the egg, milk, and vanilla.  Combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.  Gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well.  Drop by slightly rounded Tablespoonfuls 2 inches apartonto ungreased baking sheets.  Bake at 375 for 6 minutes.  Press a marshmallow half, cut side down onto each cookie.  Bake 2 minutes longer or until marshmallow is softened.  Remove to wire racks.

In a microwave-safe bowl, melt butter and chocolate.  Stir until smooth.  Beat in powdered sugar, add enough liquid, coffee or milk, to achieve spreading consistency.  Transfer frosting to a pastry or plastic bag.  Cut a small hole in one corner of the bag.  Pipe over cookies.   Makes about 3 dozen.

(Editor’s Note:  I too make these cookies and have a soft spot in my heart for them, but not because of a shop.  For me these cookies are and always will be a reflection of my Grandma Joyce.  From the time I was very young we’d go picnic in the summer time with Grandma, sometimes just our family and sometimes the extended family with cousins, aunts, uncles and everyone in between.  At these events there were two foodstuffs which almost always appeared.  The first was a punch made with home canned plum juice and 7-up: Grandma’s punch.  This punch is the reason I didn’t understand the jokes about plums being old people food because we loved it…and still do.  The second was the chocolate marshmallow cookies.  She always spread her frosting over the entire marshmallow, so there was a dark chocolately cookie, half of a gooey marshmallow and a rich milk chocolate frosting.  Then grandma would keep them in the freezer, so they were always cold and almost a little frozen when she brought them out.  To this day every time I see a cookie with a chocolate marshmallow combination I think of these picnics and those cold cookies.  Maybe I’ll make some for the 4th of July.  🙂 )

5 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment- Chocolate Mallow Drops

    • Good! I’d love to hear what people think of the coffee. I’m afraid the only way I like coffee is to smell the roasted coffee beans at the store. That’s it. Let me know what you think when you try them!

Leave a Reply

