The Great Cookie Experiment – Soft Lemonade Cookies

A little late this week due to Girls’ Camp, but better late than never!

Soft Lemonade Cookies

I’ve mentioned before that my husband has 3 favorite flavor combinations:  Chocolate cherry, Chocolate Peanut Butter, and Lemon.  His current obsession is the frozen lemon custard at the store up the street.  When a cookie recipe shows up that features one of these flavors, I pay attention.  I was especially looking forward to this one- the days are hot, and this seemed like the perfect summer cookie- lemony, maybe a little bit tart, refreshing.

They didn’t actually turn out the way I hoped, and writing this article, I now realize why.  I made the cookies wrong!  I misread the directions, and what came out was a big mess!  You’d think by now, after so many batches of cookies, that I would know how to read the directions, but apparently experience can still be foiled by human error.

The lemonade in the cookies is used two ways.  First, some of the lemonade concentrate is put into the cookie dough for flavoring.  I didn’t think that the lemonade did a whole lot to give the cookies a great lemon flavor- no lemon zest was added, so the dough itself just didn’t have the lemony zing I was hoping for.  That was saved for the second use of the lemonade- to brush the melted lemonade concentrate on top of the cookies AFTER they were baked and removed to wire racks to cool.

I did not do that.  I brushed the melted lemonade concentrate on the cookie dough BEFORE I put it in the oven to bake!  The result was that the lemonade cooked into this gooey sticky syrup that pooled all over the bottom of the cookie sheet.  I practically had to cut the cookies out of the cookie sheet when they were done.  The lemonade that STAYED on the cookies hardened into this gooey glaze that left the edges ragged and not terribly appealing.  There WAS a lemonade tang that was nice, but I didn’t like the results overall.

Well, duh.  That’s because you weren’t ever supposed to bake the lemonade!  Brushing the concentrate on the cookies while they were still hot, but done baking should make a very nice topping that doesn’t end up too gooey, and doesn’t require major effort cleaning your pans later!  It will also give you that lemonade flavor that will remind you of all things summer.

Now I want to make these again to see if I like them better when I follow the directions correctly.

Soft lemonade cookies

Soft Lemonade Cookies

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

3 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

¾ cup thawed lemonade concentrate, divided

additional sugar

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each egg.  Combine flour and baking soda.  Add to the creamed mixture alternately with 1/3 cup lemonade concentrate, beating well after each addition.  Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets.  Bake at 400 for 8 minutes.  Remove to wire racks.  Brush with remaining lemonade concentrate (See how you’re supposed to put the lemonade on AFTER they’re baked?  It’s kind of an important step, apparently).  Sprinkle with additional sugar.  Makes about 6 dozen.

Leave a Reply

