The Great Cookie Experiment – Chocolate Raspberry Cookies

Chocolate Raspberry Cookies

It was bound to happen sometime.

I make my cookies every week on a Saturday.  That’s because on Saturday night we get together with friends for a game night.  We get together, talk, play games, and eat treats as a regular Saturday night occasion that has lasted since some of us were in college together.  It also ensures that I have guinea pigs to try the cookies each week without me eating the whole batch by myself.

I am not, however, the only member of the group who likes to cook and bake and make treats for game night.  Because everyone knows I’ll be making cookies, people do seem to be reluctant to make more cookies.  They might make other sweet breads or pastries, but it’s hardly fair to forbid the ones who love it from ever bringing cookies, so on occasion we have two, sometimes three different cookies to choose from on a Saturday night.  I don’t think you can ever really have too many cookies.   Well, until this recipe, that is.

I want to go on record right now and say that I LOVED these cookies!  I thought they were absolutely delectable, and I loved the blend of raspberry and chocolate and vanilla.  I would make these again, and I would serve them at fancy dinners, and put them on my list of favorites.  I was in heaven when I tasted one of these cookies as it came out of the oven.  I was getting them ready to take to game night, when my friend Jana (Ed note:  Yeah, me Jana!) came over so we could go pick up dinner together.  She saw the cookies, and hesitated, “Oh no, I made the same cookie!”  It wasn’t the same cookie.  Okay, it was still a chocolate cookie with chips and fruit, but hers were cherry and dark chocolate, and mine were raspberry with white chocolate chips.  They were similar, but not exactly the same.  No problem.   It was bound to happen sometime.

Except everybody liked hers better!  We have more dark chocolate lovers in the group, and most of them said they liked the dark chocolate better than vanilla chips.  Even my girls said they liked Jana’s cookies better.  But….but….these raspberry cookies were spectacular!  Didn’t they see that?  I mean yes, cherry and dark chocolate are also spectacular, but….RASPBERRIES, people!  Sigh.  (Ed note:  Raspberries good…cherries good…dark chocolate is the winner here.  I still think if we added dark chocolate chips to THESE cookies they would seriously rock socks.)

I stand by this cookie.  If you love the taste of raspberries and chocolate, you will not be disappointed.  The raspberry taste works its way all through the cookie, and you get a tremendous blend of flavor.  You may want to experiment and try some dark chocolate chunks instead of vanilla chips, but either way, you’re going to be happy.

As for the dark chocolate cherry?  Well, Jana runs this blog, so you’ll have to beg her for the recipe.  That way you can get BOTH fabulous cookies, and compare for yourselves!  (Ed note: Next week I’ll hijack the experiment and post the cherry cookies!)

Chocolate Raspberry Cookies

1 cup butter, softened

¾ cup sugar

¾ cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

¾ cup semisweet chocolate chips, melted and cooled

½ cup raspberries, pureed

3 cups flour

¾ tsp baking soda

¾ tsp salt

1 cup vanilla chips

Cream the butter and sugars until light and fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in melted chocolate and raspberries.  Combine flour, baking soda and salt.  Gradually add to creamed mixture.  Stir in vanilla chips.  Drop by teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart on an ungreased baking sheet.  Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes or until edges begin to brown.  Remove to wire racks to cool.  Makes about 6 dozen

2 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Chocolate Raspberry Cookies

  1. The only thing to do here now is to bake both recipes next week and do my own taste test. I suspect that the raspberry version might win at my house because we have some anti cherry people in my family, but I like both myself.

Leave a Reply

