The Great Cookie Experiment – Carrot Cookies

So before you get to the experiment Julie has informed me that we have completed the first of her cookie collection books.  Fear not, gentle reader, she still has recipes…however, we’re wondering if you’d like to see changes here or if you’re happy as things are.  Drop us a comment, I’ll figure out how to do an official push button poll soon, letting us know if we should:

1:  just keep going with more recipes

2: revisit some of the experiments which didn’t work and fix them

3: switch to something besides cookies

Now…on with the show!

Carrot Cookies

I have a recipe for carrot cookies.  It’s been a long time since I’ve made them, which is a mistake I should correct very soon.  For me, carrot cookies are supposed to be a little bit like carrot cake.  It should have cinnamon and nutmeg and carrots, and maybe some raisins and nuts thrown in for good measure.  I have an expectation when it comes to something like carrot cookies.

I was surprised at this recipe because it didn’t have any of the things I would expect out of a carrot cookie.  It was, in fact, a very plain recipe.  Shortening, sugar, eggs, flour, baking soda, salt, and carrots, that’s it for ingredients.  No vanilla, no brown sugar, no butter, no spices, nothing that I would associate with a rich and flavorful cookie.  Yet the description on the cookie recipe said that this was a flavorful and colorful cookie.  Where was the flavor supposed to be coming from then, if it was such a basic plain Jane cookie recipe?

I figured it out after the cookies came out of the oven, and I tasted it.  It tasted deep fried to me.  There’s the flavor.  This recipe has a cup of shortening to just two cups of flour.  That’s almost twice the fat content from most standard cookie recipes.  The cookie was frying itself in the oven.  Now, when it’s right out of the oven, it’s actually pretty tasty, because French fries are tasty when they’re hot out of the fryer.  French fries are not so good after they have been sitting for awhile, and the same thing is true of this cookie.  It is not good cold.  Nobody much liked this cookie, and I still have cookies in the cookie jar that didn’t get eaten this week. I haven’t gotten around to throwing them out yet.

I’m going to go back to the idea that carrot cookies should be more like carrot cake and less like carrot fritters.

Carrot Cookies

Carrot Cookies

1 cup shortening

¾ cup sugar

2 eggs

1 cup shredded carrots

2 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp salt

In a bowl, cream the shortening and sugar.  Add the eggs and mix well.  Stir in the carrots.  Combine the flour, baking powder and salt.  Gradually add to the carrot mixture.  Drop by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased baking sheets.  Bake at 400 for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned.  Remove to wire racks to cool.  Makes about 4 ½ dozen

(Ed Note: I happen to LOOOOVE carrot cookies.  Julie is right, this one was not fantastic.  The best carrot cake cookies in the world come from Disney World in Florida.  I suspect this is not just because they are a good cookie, but they are just a little frozen and they are just a part of the Disney World experience for us.  Bunneh always buys me like six of them over the course of the visit.  They have about a gazillion calories, I’m sure, but since we do so much walking I figure we work it off.)

2 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Carrot Cookies

  1. Official restatement of my ongoing lobbying efforts: See if you can make some of those disasters (or even not-quite-rights) better. I’m available for taste testing all week.

    • I’m seriously thinking about it. I don’t think this one is saveable. If I cut the fat to a normal amount, the cookies are tasteless. I might as well just make the carrot cookie recipe I already have and like.

Leave a Reply

