The Great Cookie Experiment – Double-Drizzle Pecan Cookies

Double-Drizzle Pecan Cookies

I have mentioned before that I have friends who hate pecans.  They are baffled that I keep making pecan cookies that they can’t (won’t) eat when they really want to eat cookies each week!  I disappointed them yet again by making these pecan cookies.  The thing is, I really like pecans, and this cookie joins the ranks of the good ones!  I guess there were more for me!

I should mention that I didn’t make the recipe according to the instructions.  The recipe calls for making the dough, forming balls, the rolling the balls in toasted chopped pecans.  I would like to say that I did this on purpose, but I read the recipe wrong, and just tossed the pecans into the dough and mixed them in.  Whoops.  Except, it’s not really an oops because the cookies turned out great and tasted just fine.  Make them how you like, it’s probably good either way.

 

You will probably notice that there is no picture of this cookie.  I don’t know why.  I took the picture.  It was a pretty picture.  The cookies are lovely and drizzly with caramel and chocolate.  I have no idea where it went.  Maybe I just imagined I took the picture?  Am I the only person that ever does this?  Sigh.  I apologize for the lack of picture.  Ninjas stole it, I’m pretty sure…

 

Double-Drizzle Pecan Cookies

 

½ cup butter, softened

1 ½ cups packed brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1 ½ cups flour

1 ½ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

1 ¼ cups chopped pecans, toasted

 

Caramel Drizzle:

 

½ cup packed brown sugar

¼ cup heaving whipping cream

½ cup powdered sugar

 

Chocolate Drizzle:

 

1 square semisweet baking chocolate

1 Tbl butter

In a large bowl, cream the butte rand brown sugar until light and fluffy.  Beat in egg and vanilla.  Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt, gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well.  Shape the dough into 1 inch balls.  Roll in pecans.  Place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.  Flatten slightly.  Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned.  Cool for 2 minutes before removing to wire racks to cool completely.  In a small saucepan, bring brown sugar and cream to a boil.  Remove from the heat.  Whisk in powdered sugar.  Immediately drizzle over cookies.   In a small microwave safe bowl, melt the chocolate and butter, stir until smooth.  Drizzle over cookies.  Let stand until set.  Store in an airtight container.  Makes about 3 ½ dozen.

3 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Double-Drizzle Pecan Cookies

Leave a Reply

