The Great Cookie Experiment – Crispy Scotchies

The Great Cookie Experiment – Crispy Scotchies

I made another version of this cookie  few months ago, and I ruined it because I had stale Crisp Rice Cereal.  That version was sweetened with honey, and it was kind of bland and well, stale Crisp Rice Cereal tasting.  It was not a favorite cookie.  This one redeems the Scotchie name beautifully.  It is NOT sweetened with honey, so the cookie is sweet and rich, and when you actually use fresh ingredients instead of the ones that have been sitting on the shelf too long, it tastes a whole lot better!  Who would guess?

This isn’t just your standard butterscotch cookie recipe.  It has an interesting variation that I approve of completely.  When you roll your cookies into balls, you dip them in a mixture of sugar and brown sugar.  There is no downside to this technique as far as I can see.  I loved the caramelized sugar topping on the cookies when they came out of the oven.  It enhanced the cookie flavor and made these cookies a real winner.

I have to make a statement about the lack of a picture.  It’s not my fault.  My oldest child borrowed my camera to shoot some lovely video footage of a sunset.  My oldest child did not take the camera off video filming and back to camera when she was finished.  I spent a good five minutes trying to figure out why the camera wasn’t actually taking the picture, all the while filming the beautiful, but very uninteresting cookies.  I didn’t figure it out until I moved all my pictures over to the computer.  I have a lovely five minute video of….cookies just sitting there!  I have no still shots at all.   Blame the lovely teenager for the error.  It’s not my fault.

 

Crispy Scotchies

 

6 Tbl butter, softened

6 Tbl butter-flavored shortening

1 cup sugar

1 cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

4 cups crisp rice cereal, divided

1 ½ cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp baking powder

1 cup butterscotch chips

Topping:

½ cup sugar

½ cup brown sugar

 

Cream butter, shortening, and sugars until light and fluffy.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in vanilla.  Crush 2 cups of cereal.  Add the flour, baking soda, and baking powder.  Gradually add to the creamed mixture and mix well.  Stir in butterscotch chips and remaining cereal.  Combine topping ingredients in a small bowl.  Roll dough into 1 ¼ inch balls, then roll in topping.  Place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.  Flatten slightly with a glass.  Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool for 1 minute before removing to wire racks.  Makes about 5 ½ dozen cookies.

3 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Crispy Scotchies

  1. Hi! I was wondering if you’ve tried sweetening with Stevia? I bet there are a whole pile of people out there who would die for a delicious cookie that was not made with a recipe calling for three cups of sugar… I’ve tried some new stevia products lately and been thrilled with the results – and so have my kids so they must taste pretty good too.

    • One of the hard parts in baking with Stevia isn’t the flavor, as Stevia is a great sweetener, but there is a certain amount of bulk which is lost and some of the crystalization properties of sugar which help cookies hold their form. Not to say it can’t be done, not by any stretch, but I think there are a few things which would have to be addressed to make sure that you could still get a puffy pleasant cookie and cut back/eliminate the sugar too. 🙂 Something to certainly experiment with.

    • One of the hard parts in baking with Stevia isn’t the flavor, as Stevia is a great sweetener, but there is a certain amount of bulk which is lost and some of the crystalization properties of sugar which help cookies hold their form. Not to say it can’t be done, not by any stretch, but I think there are a few things which would have to be addressed to make sure that you could still get a puffy pleasant cookie and cut back/eliminate the sugar too. 🙂 Something to certainly experiment with.

Leave a Reply

