The Great Cookie Experiment – Soft Eggnog Cookies- Pinterest Edition

Soft Eggnog Cookies- Pinterest Edition

Episode 2 of the pinterest experiments has me using a recipe from a blog I pin a lot of recipes from.  Six Sisters Stuff http://sixsistersstuff.com/ has amazing recipes and is fun to read.  Their recipe for Soft Eggnog Cookies was floating around pinterest, and caught my interest immediately!  My husband LOVES eggnog this time of year, and would definitely love a good eggnog cookie as a bonus!  This had to be the cookie!

 

Except I made a big mistake on the recipe.  Hey, it happens, and I’m not afraid to admit it!  I would hate for you to get the image that only perfect people who have their lives together wrote blogs!  Oh no, this very imperfect woman does make mistakes on the recipes sometimes, and isn’t afraid to admit it.  Much.  J  Let me tell you what I made the mistake on.  I used full fat eggnog!  I KNOW!  What was I thinking?  The recipe called for Light Eggnog, and I didn’t pay attention.  Actually I DID pay attention, but the store didn’t have light eggnog, and I thought, oh why not use the full fat?  It wouldn’t make that much of a difference.

 

Uh, yes, it would.  The original cookies came out round and firm and perfect.  Mine came out kind of cakey and fragile.  They melded together in the cookie jar in a kind of gooey way.  Too much fat is bad for the cookies, folks, so go to other stores to find the light eggnog if you make this recipe!

 

But how did they taste?  They tasted wonderful, of course!  It’s EGGNOG!  If you’re not a fan of eggnog, stay away, otherwise, eat several!  I did have some interesting comments from my friends.  More than one thought the cookies were too rich for them.  Maybe that’s because I used the full blown eggnog, I’m not sure.  My girls were proud to share the cookies with their school lunches, and got some great responses from their friends.

Soft Eggnog Cookies

Soft Eggnog Cookies

1 ¼ cup sugar

¾ cups butter, room temp

½ cup LIGHT eggnog

1 tsp vanilla

2 egg yolks

2 ½ cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees.  (Yes 300)

In a large bowl, cream sugar and butter with an electric mixer.  Add eggnog, vanilla and egg yolks and beat at medium speed until smooth.

In a medium bowl combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and nutmeg; mix well with a wire whisk and add to your eggnog/sugar/butter mixture.

Stick in the refrigerator until dough is cool.

Next drop by rounded teaspoons onto a greased baking sheet, 1 to 2 inches away from each other.  Bake for for 17 to 22 minutes or until bottoms turn light brown.  – Be sure to keep an eye on them.

Transfer to cool, flat surface immediately with spatula. –If you leave them on the pan they will burn!

 

Eggnog Icing

3 cups powdered sugar

¼ cup softened butter

½ cup LIGHT eggnog

In a small mixer bowl, beat the powdered sugar and butter until well blended.  Gradually beat in eggnog until icing is smooth and the desired consistency.  You may need less or more eggnog depending on the consistency you like.  Then frost the cookies and let the icing harden.

Servings:  About 36 cookies

2 thoughts on “The Great Cookie Experiment – Soft Eggnog Cookies- Pinterest Edition

Leave a Reply

