Sliced Roasted Potatoes

I love potatoes.  I love potatoes in all of their forms, shapes and sizes.  I like the sweet ones and the purple ones and the red ones and the gold ones and the traditional russet ones.  And I like them prepared a lot of ways…I’m not sure I’ve seen a way I didn’t like except for burned or over salty, and that doesn’t count.  Anyway…realizing all that it came as something of a surprise to me when I was puttering about Pintrest, a very dangerous pastime but helpful for expectant mommies with heart burn who can’t sleep, I found several entries for a method of baking potatoes I’d not tried.

In this case you cut fine slits ALMOST all the way through a medium to large baking potato.  Then you drizzle it with olive oil, salt, pepper and whatever other spices float your boat.  The whole thing goes into the oven, on a tin foil lined sheet pan if you please, for 45 minutes at 425ish and gets all crispy along all those open edges and soft in the very heart.  If I did it again, I think I’d ponder using an Alton Brown trick for French Fries and parboil the whole thing before slicing and spicing and I think it’d go faster, but all in all this was very yummy.  Shredded cheese on top and served up with slow roasted beef and broccoli also not a bad thing!

Who else has tried this trick?  Anything I missed?

sliced roasted potato 002 sliced roasted potato 001

Jana

2 thoughts on “Sliced Roasted Potatoes

Leave a Reply

