Great Cookie Experiment – Chocolate Dipped Macaroons

Great Cookie Experiment – Chocolate Dipped Macaroons

I made these at the height of the Christmas season when I was surrounded by hand-dipped chocolates, and busy with getting the decorating, baking, and presents done.  On top of that, these were made right when I was working the Dickens Festival and was gone all afternoon and evening.  I sent the cookies with my husband to game night and didn’t show up until very late that evening.

What that meant was that I had very little feed back on what people thought of these cookies.  I don’t know who ate them and who avoided them (Ed Note: The guy who hates Coconut avoided them.  🙂 ).  I don’t know if they thought they were good.  I mean, *I* thought they were good, but maybe that was me.  Either way, at the end of game night, I unpinned my Victorian hat, and ragged my sore feet and the uneaten cookies home without any idea if they were liked.

The next morning my husband stopped me, and said, “By the way, those cookies?  YES.  I mean, YES.  Make them again.”

Do we need more feedback than that?  I’m satisfied.

One quick note- I did not use chocolate chips to dip the macaroons.  I dip chocolates at Christmastime, and was surrounded by all kinds of tempered chocolate and candy coatings.  I used a quick and easy candy coating so I didn’t have to go through the tempering process.  If I’d had time, and wasn’t working the Dickens Fair, I may have gone ahead and tempered some dipping chocolate instead.  You may want to as well.

Chocolate Dipped Macaroons

Dipped Macaroons

 

2 2/3 cups flaked coconut

2/3 cup sugar

6 Tbl flour

¼ tsp salt

4 egg whites

½ -1 tsp almond extract

2 cups milk chocolate chips

1 Tbl shortening

 

Combine coconut, sugar, flour and salt.  Stir in egg whites ad almond extract.  Mix well.  Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto greased baking sheets.  Bake at 325 for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool for 2 minutes before removing to wire racks.   In a microwave-safe bowl, combine the chips and shortening.  Cover and microwave on high for 1-2 minutes or until the chips are melted.  Stir until smooth.  Dip half of each cookie in mixture.  Allow excess to drip off.  Place on waxed paper.  Let stand until set.  Makes about 3 dozen

2 thoughts on “Great Cookie Experiment – Chocolate Dipped Macaroons

Leave a Reply

