Homemade apple chips

In the last few weeks we’ve had a lot of apples in our Bountiful Baskets.  While I like apples very much it gets to a point that I’ve started getting creative in trying to figure out what to do with them.  Today it occurred to me that I had yet to just dehydrate some of the lovely fruit and make it into healthy fruit chips.  Since I had a few hours at home that’s exactly what I did.  It was oh so easy and the results highly tasty just for snacking, or for use in things like oatmeal.

However, I also learned a few things.  The first thing I learned is that the thin slices on my mandolin are a little TOO thin for my liking.  On the next batch I’m going to go up by one level.  The second thing I learned was not to forget to use a little pan spray on my cookie racks before tossing everything in the oven.  I got some stickage which meant some of my chips are more crumbles.  Other than that…yum.

Apple Chips

2-3 large apples in thin slices – You will want to use a fairly firm apple such as Granny Smith, Golden Delicious or Fujis.  If the apples are too soft they just fall apart as you are slicing them and don’t dehydrate as well

cinnamon or nutmeg as desired, or a little cinnamon sugar

2 half sheet pans

2 metal cooling racks which can withstand going into the oven

pan spray

Preheat oven to 200 degrees.  Place cooling racks onto half sheet pans and spray lightly with pan spray.  Layer with apple slices.  Spice as desired.  Place racks in oven for one hour.  Switch rack placement and leave in oven for another hour.  Turn off heat and leave racks in oven until cool.  Remove and package chips in zip lock bags.  Munch away!

One thought on “Homemade apple chips

  1. My mom dried apple chips all the time. We loved them as a snack when we were kids but I hadn’t thought of putting nutmeg and cinnamon on them. Yummy! I can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

