Family Famous Hot Fudge

It should come as no surprise to anyone who’s been following along for even a post or three that I like chocolate.  I love caramel just as much, but chocolate does have a special place in my stomach and heart.

When I think back to some of the places and recipes where this began I can’t help but think about my Dad.  In our family we were always…and still are…fans of dessert.  One of my favorite desserts was anything with Dad’s hot fudge sauce on it.  It didn’t matter if it was ice cream or brownies or cookies or cake or fruit, as long as it had Dad’s sauce on it, and I always knew when the hot fudge sauce was coming because he’d pull out a particular copper bottom pan and a cool spiral wisk that could be bounced all over the kitchen.

Now, you have to understand that while I will share the recipe for this sauce it will never be as good as when my Dad makes it.  I don’t know why this is the case, but since becoming all grown up like I have made this sauce many many times and I love it, but it’s never quiet the same.  There is some aspect of just how it comes together that adds a Dad touch to the finished product.

This sauce is wonderful served warm and, in my opinion, even more beautiful for dipping fruit in after it’s cooled a bit and thickened a little.  Bananas are my personal favorite, though it’s also great with strawberries and makes a great fondue.

After I wrote the first draft of this blog I chatted with Dad on the phone and learned that this recipe actually was my Great Grandma’s recipe, which Dad learned from her and added his own touches to.  With a new baby due to join us any day I can’t help but hope that she’ll learn it from us and keep it in the family for a long time to come.

hot fudge topping

Brad’s Hot Fudge Sauce

2 Tbl flour

2 Tbl Thick Gel

4 Tbl baking cocoa

2 cups sugar

dash of salt

1 can (13 oz) evaporated milk

2 Tbl butter

1 tsp vanilla

Combine flour, Thick Gel, cocoa, sugar and salt and mix well.  Add evaporated milk and stir until completely combined.  Heat to a roiling boil.  Boil for three minutes, stirring constantly, and remove from heat.  Add butter and vanilla and stir until incorporated.  Serve warm or cool for a thicker consistency.  Yield: 1 pint

2 thoughts on “Family Famous Hot Fudge

  1. Pingback: Homemade Chocolate Ice Cream – With Thick Gel! | Cornaby's

  2. Pingback: Homemade Chocolate Ice Cream - With Thick Gel - Cornaby's Blog

Leave a Reply

