The Great Cookie Experiment – Brazil Nut Cookies

The Great Cookie Experiment – Brazil Nut Cookies

 

I’m not sure I’m a big fan of Brazil nuts.  I mean, I don’t HATE them, but when I get a can of mixed nuts, I kind of eat all the other nuts, and leave the Brazil nuts for someone else, or eat them last.  They taste kind of musty to me.  They’re also a pretty unique ingredient for a cookie, so I was interested to see how they turned out.

 

They turned out pretty good.   They’re not especially sweet cookies, and the Brazil nuts, which I found at Walmart, went well with the other flavors.  It was a nutty, buttery cookie…that still kind of tasted musty to me.  If Brazil nuts are the things you dig out of the mixed nuts jar so you can eat them first, then you definitely need to consider this cookie.  I may stick with almonds

Brazil Nut Cookies

 

Brazil Nut Cookies

 

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 ½ tsp vanilla

2 ¼ cups flour

½ tsp baking soda

¼ tsp salt

2 cups chopped Brazil nuts

½ cup flaked coconut

 

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in vanilla.  Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt, gradually add to creamed mixture and mix well.  Stir in nuts and coconut.

 

Drop by Tablespoonfuls 3inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.  Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.  Makes about 4 ½ dozen

Leave a Reply

