The Great Cookie Experiment- Pinterest Edition Homemade Girl Scout Samoa Bars

The Great Cookie Experiment- Pinterest Edition  Homemade Girl Scout Samoa Bars

 

It is Girl Scout Cookie season!  Everyone has placed their orders, and pretty soon, if not already, little brightly colored boxes will be showing up at the door!

 

Except nobody knocked on my door to sell me cookies this year!  The one little Girl Scout that lives near me didn’t catch me at home, or didn’t get over to my street, and I am sadly without Girl Scout cookies.  I know!  It’s a tragedy!  I’ll have to join the ranks of the people that have to wait and get them outside of grocery stores and movie theaters on the weekends.

 

Until then, my craving for my favorite Samoas must be satisfied, so I tried these Samoa bars that I pinned awhile ago, hoping that these would be close to the real deal.  The caramel coconut layer is fabulous.  I could eat it with a spoon.  The chocolate is pretty good, but you may want to get a higher quality chocolate than melted chocolate chips like I used.  The cookie base is good and a basic bar recipe that can be used with a lot of different thing.  Combining all three makes a yummy cookie bar….that doesn’t taste like Girl Scout Samoas.  It tries, and I applaud the effort.  It’s just not Samoas.  I even waited to see if eating them the next day brought them closer to Samoa cookies.  Nope.  It’s not Samoas.

I’m not saying you shouldn’t make this cookie, because you definitely should.  I wouldn’t call them Samoas, though.   Call them Coconut Caramel Squares or something, and I’ll see you in line in front of the girl scout table at the grocery store this weekend.

 

You can find the original recipe here:  http://bakingbites.com/2009/02/homemade-girl-scout-cookies-samoas-bars/

Samoas

 

Homemade Girl Scout Samoa Bars

½ cup sugar

¾ cup softened butter

1 egg

½ tsp vanilla

2 cups flour

1/4 tsp salt

 

Preheat oven to 350.  Lightly grease a 9×13 pan.  Cream butter and sugar.  Add egg and vanilla.  Stir in flour and salt.  Press into a 9×13 pan, and bake for 20-25 minutes or until set.

 

Topping

3 cups shredded coconut

12  oz  good quality chewy caramels

¼ tsp salt

3 Tbl milk

10 oz dark or semisweet chocolate

 

Toast coconut by spreading on a cookie sheet and putting it into a 300 degree oven for 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes until golden.  Set aside.  Unwrap caramels and put in a microwave safe bowl with salt and milk.  Cook on high 3-4 minutes, stopping 2 or 3 times to stir.  When smooth, fold in toasted coconut.  Spread on cookie base, and cool.  Cut into 30 bars.  Melt chocolate.  Dip the bottom of each bar into chocolate and place on waxed or parchment paper to set.  Put the rest of the chocolate in a piping bag and pipe chocolate over the tops of the cookies.  Let set.  Makes 30.

Leave a Reply

