Butternut squash bread

As of late we’ve come into a lot of butternut squash.  This is a good thing…however, my list of what I make with butternut squash is pretty short.  Almost non-existent kind of short.  Not because we don’t like butternut squash, but most methods take a while to cook and I get distracted…go figure.  So this time I decided I was going to use the squash which lead to meandering around online to see what other folks use squash for.  I found that it was a fairly common idea to roast the squash and make a puree which can be frozen and then used in a lot of things from baked goods to soups.

So for the puree it’s pretty straight forward.  Slice the butternut squash in half, remove the seeds and roast in a 350 degree oven skin side down with butter and spices, as you like, for about an hour.  Mine took an hour and 15.  Then scoop the flesh out and take it for a whir in the food processor…or in my case the powerful Ninja blender my darling husband got us for Christmas!  All hail the power blender!  I add about a teaspoon of Ultra Gel to this mix as well which helps to hold all the lovely juices in the puree and makes it freeze with very small crystals so it keeps longer.  Scoop into freezer bags, write what is in it on the outside of the bag, suck the air out and freeze for upto 6 months.

Once I had my puree I decided I wanted to make a quick bread with it.  This turns out much like pumpkin bread but with a slightly lighter flavor.  It was this nice burst of fall for the weekend which traditionally starts summer.

Credit and much thanks to My Baking Addiction for the base recipe, which I then modified based on my own needs.  I again added Ultra Gel because I like the way it holds the moisture and makes for a better texture.  Remember this is a quick bread so when it comes to adding the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients switch to a big spoon and stir it in gently.  Do not over mix!!!

squashbread

Butternut Squash Bread

1 1/2 cups butternut puree

1/2 cup mashed banana

4 eggs

1 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup water

2 cups white sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 Tbl Ultra Gel

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp kosher salt

4 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp ground nutmet

1 tsp ground cardamom

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease and flour two large loaf pans.

In a large bowl (I use my stand mixer) combine purees, eggs, oil, water, sugars, vanilla and Ultra Gel.  Mix until thoroughly combined.  In a separate bowl whisk together dry ingredients.

Stir the dry ingredients into the butternut squash mixture, combining until just incorporated.  Pour into prepared pans, do not overfill.

Bake for 55-60 minutes or until loaf tests clean.

Leave a Reply

