Lemon Crinkle Cookies

My sweet hubby needed cookies for a work party.  When he asked, very nicely mind you, I started thinking chocolate chip cookies…a certain favorite…but it wasn’t quite right.  With summer setting in I wanted something brighter and fresh.  I pondered lemon bars, but remembered that I’d seen this recipe for lemon crinkle cookies and was sure I had it pinned somewhere.

So I popped over to pintrest and wandered through my cookie pins until I found what I wanted.  I adjusted this recipe to use Ultra Gel, which I honestly use in close to all of my cookie recipes.  Living in Utah we fight both altitude and humidity when it comes to baking.  Food dries out easily and adding the Ultra Gel and a little extra liquid helps everything stay good longer.  Not that we ever have a hard time working our way through cookies!

These cookies turned out really good.  They have nice crispy edges with a smooth creamy center which makes me happy.  These are powder sugar dusted, very traditional for crinkle cookies, which makes for a bit of a sticky situation on fingertips.  It wasn’t a bad thing, but means you’ll want to separate layers of the cookies with waxed paper if you freeze very many of them.  All in all I’m really glad I made a double batch.  🙂

Find the original recipe here.  Add two teaspoons of Ultra Gel with the dry ingredients.

lemon crinkle cookies

Leave a Reply

