Ultra Gel Cheese Crackers

When we travel my boys are always on the look out for something new to munch on.  I can’t really blame them.  I’m a big travel eater myself.  So when we took a recent trip to their grandmother’s cabin I decided to try a take on homemade cheese crackers.  I wanted a cracker which was baked, flavorful and a little more chewy than crisp.  Adding Ultra Gel to this recipe gave me the chew and the recipe itself was easy.  Just for fun we used my Ninja cookie cutter for shaping our crackers.  I think, all in all, it worked out really well.  We ate most of them anyway!

ninja cheese crackers

Ultra Gel Cheese Crackers

1/4 cup butter softened
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (I used a sharp cheddar, but you could do something more mild, or try a pepper jack for more kick)
2 tsp Ultra Gel
1 cup flour (all purpose, or whole wheat)
6 tbsp water

Mix butter, salt and cheese until combined.  I did this in my stand mixer. Add in flour and mix well, this will yield a very crumbly mixture.

Slowly add water, 1 tbsp at a time. Allow at least 1 minute of mixing between each tbsp added. You may require slightly more or less water than listed depending on altitude, weather, how packed your flour is, etc. Form dough into a ball, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper.

Divide dough into 2 portions. Roll dough out until it is at 1/8-inch thickness. Cut into squares, or use cookie cutters to portion.  Steam prick all crackers before baking.

Bake for 13-17 minutes or until puffy and golden. Rotate pans 1/2 way through. Allow crackers to cool on tray.

These are excellent dipped into raspberry chipotle sauce, or as scoopers for cream cheese covered with raspberry chipotle sauce.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Ultra Gel Cheese Crackers

Leave a Reply

